Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

QUESTION: If my partner misses the shuttle during service ,can i take it for him??

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by unregistered, May 6, 2003.

  1. unregistered

    unregistered Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SinGapoRe
    Erm.. sorry if its a lame q but i really don't know the answer. thx.
     
  2. JChen99

    JChen99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Realtor
    Location:
    Coquitlam
  3. unregistered

    unregistered Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SinGapoRe
    o...... ok thx
     
  4. wilfredlgf

    wilfredlgf Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,583
    Likes Received:
    8
    Occupation:
    Security Engineer
    Location:
    Malaysia
    As far as I have known, you can't. Else, everybody would be doing the same.
     
  5. Neil Nicholls

    Neil Nicholls Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cannock, UK
    Law 11.2
    Only the receiver shall return the service: should the shuttle touch or be hit by the receiver's partner, it shall be a fault and the servin side scores a point.
     
  6. tonny

    tonny Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    U cant... if not y does the ampire ask for the name of the first server n first receiver.
     
  7. RealMad

    RealMad Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    One of the things I managed to pull off in a tournament was when my non-receiving opponent was really crowding the near net line, I nailed him on the head with a quick drive serve. Point to my team.

    I normally wouldnt do that but I didn't like my opponents anyway.
     
  8. yonexfanatic

    yonexfanatic Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AB, canada
    nope, i remember playing in a recreational game with friends. It was nearing the end of the day and my partner and i didn't really want to continue the game. So just being plain silly, we sped up the game by recieving each others serve..which is obviously a fault and results in a point to the other team i guess
     
  9. other

    other Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    8
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    lol........i guess he wasnt crouching down enough?
     
  10. RealMad

    RealMad Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, I think he was. In hindsight, it truly wasn't a smart move on my part as he could have easily dodged or it could have gone over his head but since I was so ticked, I wasn't really thinking of that.

    What happened was that he got surprised that the shuttle was coming his way, with speed, so he jerked up and got hit on the forehead :)
     
  11. other

    other Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    8
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    lol.......that's why i always crouch down and try to watch out for those nasty shots
     

Share This Page