Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

question on "hitting or touching" the net

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by leeforspeed, Apr 13, 2013.

  1. leeforspeed

    leeforspeed Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    So during a game, I returned the shuttle right on to the tape, but unfortunately, it falls on my side of the court. However, my opponent was so eager to hit the shuttle, he hits the net, while the shuttle is in air, obviously falling on my side.

    Is it a fault? Or is it a point to my opponent? Any rules on this?

    Thanks
     
  2. LD rules!

    LD rules! Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Earth
    If he touched the net with his racket before the shuttle hits the ground, it's a fault, and your point.
     
  3. Agile_Monkey

    Agile_Monkey Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Your 1st sentence doesn't make sense with the 2nd sentence. If the shuttle got deflected off from the tape and falls on your side, then why did your opponent even try to hit it!? (unless he is newbie)

    If he goes for shot at the net, and hits the net too before the rally ends, then he is at fault.
     
  4. leeforspeed

    leeforspeed Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Thanks, indeed my opponent was going for it and hit the net...we had an argument about it.
     
  5. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,903
    Likes Received:
    224
    Occupation:
    Cylon Agent
    Location:
    HK
    CMIIW, once the shuttle touches the net and the descending has begun, the rally is over. You lose. It doesn't matter if your opponent touches the net after the descending has begun.

    Feel free to correct me if i am wrong.
     
    #5 pcll99, Apr 13, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2013
  6. phili

    phili Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    I think you are right.

    Even if it technically would be a fault I wouldn't call it as a player.
     
  7. leeforspeed

    leeforspeed Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Thanks to all. It was one of those shot where the shuttle hit the tape, not the net,*but for sure it is descending when he hit the net. Note: The point didn't count, we started over.
     
    #7 leeforspeed, Apr 13, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2013
  8. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    United States
    pcll is correct. I am too lazy to go to the rulebook to find the exact wording but it is something like

    Shuttle not in play:

    The shuttle is considered not in play when it hits the net and falls toward the side of the striker.

    Therefore anything else happens after that is nullified.

    However, if the shuttle is let's say at half court and is clearly not going over, then the shuttle is still considered in play until it hits the ground.
     
  9. Agile_Monkey

    Agile_Monkey Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    oh I see your point there. seems fair. I think the shuttle has to start descending after it hits the net, then the rally is over. If the shuttle ascends first (after it hits the net), flys above net level, your opponent might be eager to finish it off, which means it is your point if he struck it on your side.

    any comments and thoughts?
     
  10. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,903
    Likes Received:
    224
    Occupation:
    Cylon Agent
    Location:
    HK
    what the OP described did in fact happen in Japan Open 2010 in the XD final between Zhang/Zhao vs Tao/Tien.

    The Umpire fortunately made the right call.
     
  11. sychong95

    sychong95 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Hey guys~

    I quote this out from the BWF rule book~ (http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/documents/bwfHandbook2010.pdf)

    15. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY
    A shuttle is not in play when:
    15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker’s side of the net;
    15.2 it hits the surface of the court; or
    15.3 a ‘fault’ or a ‘let’ has occurred

    So from the evidence, we are totally sure that pcll99 is 100% correct:)

    And the rally is finished once the shuttle touches the net and falls to yr own side =]
     
  12. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,903
    Likes Received:
    224
    Occupation:
    Cylon Agent
    Location:
    HK
    thanks. very useful...

    btw, it's rule 14, not rule 15.

    http://www.bwfbadminton.org/file_download.aspx?id=422701&tid=1
     
  13. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,495
    Likes Received:
    256
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Huh? Did you read the posts above?

    The moment the shuttle hits the net and starts falling back on the striker's side, that is already not in play. So no fault can be called when it is not in play already... even if the player falls into the net. :p
     
    #13 visor, Apr 16, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2013
  14. sychong95

    sychong95 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    not really... was what we discussed. Since the shuttle already hit the net and started falling to our own ground, even when the shuttle haven't reach the ground yet, the rally ends. Thus even when the opponent touch the net afterwards, it isn't a fault.
     
  15. Agile_Monkey

    Agile_Monkey Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Aotearoa
  16. sychong95

    sychong95 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    LOL:D In that special case, that rally would be considered as a let :)
     
  17. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,495
    Likes Received:
    256
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    yes... it's a let if it's caught at the top of the net..... but the umpire didn't notice that LD's opponent faulted when he touched the bottom of the net when lifting the shot prior to LD's special drop shot? ;)
     
  18. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,903
    Likes Received:
    224
    Occupation:
    Cylon Agent
    Location:
    HK
    Let's ignore LD's opponent touching the net for a moment.

    What if LD's opponent returns the shuttle? Can he do that?
     

Share This Page