Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

quick question

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by mrs-poochie, Aug 3, 2011.

  1. mrs-poochie

    mrs-poochie Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    scotland
    hey i was wondering, what happens if the shuttlecock hits one of the stands that hold up the net and lands in, does that count?
     
  2. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,284
    Likes Received:
    551
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    yes. it is considered in.
     
  3. mrs-poochie

    mrs-poochie Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    scotland
    thank i have always wondered x
     
  4. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,664
    Likes Received:
    292
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    I can't imagine the scenario the OP posted with the posts specifically dedicated for badminton because such posts do not extend over the net and you need to hit it over the net first before it can be considered in. However, if it's in a school gym with those tall multi purpose posts used for volleyball/badminton etc, then obviously by the time the bird hits those posts, it's already way out of the court. ... So, I have an inkling the OP is referring to the latter case, in which case the answer is no.
     
  5. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,284
    Likes Received:
    551
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    that's right. it is considered IN when the pole is in the immediate area of the court, ie within the line boundary which is the case for proper net positioning. if however, the poles are not in the immediate area of the court, then it should be considered out.
     
  6. Yoppy

    Yoppy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,810
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney
    How about if the shuttle flew pass the side of the post and landed in?
     
  7. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,284
    Likes Received:
    551
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    this is an interesting one. back when we were discussion this, in this thread:

    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/forums/showthread.php/26879-Badminton-rule-dispute

    the rules says :

    13. FAULTS

    It is a ‘fault’:

    13.2 if in play, the shuttle:

    13.2.3 fails to pass the net;

    but since then, the rule has been changed to say:

    13.3.3 fails to pass over the net;

    so there is an intention to differentiate between passing the net (which means OK to pass on the side) and passing over the net (which mean NOT OK to pass on the side).

    so with the current rule, it is then illegal to pass on the side of the net.



     
  8. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,664
    Likes Received:
    292
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    ^^ Interesting, because in tennis I've seen Roger Federer take some amazing forehand shots from waaaaaay outside the court making them pass the side of the post below net level and landing just inside the opponent's left court. :) Guess we can't do this in badminton: ;)
     
  9. cobalt

    cobalt Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Yes
    Location:
    Arrakis
    In that case, you took the shuttle when it was outside the tramlines! Now, why would a player want to do that? :confused:

    OR, you're playing outdoors with a strong wind coming in at right angles to the court; so you intentionally hit a bit out, and let the wind bring it back in... :eek:

    OR you have contracted/bribed the indoor crowd on one side to do the Mexican wave (with their flags) on cue... :D
     
  10. Yoppy

    Yoppy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,810
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney
    I see thanks for the info kwun. I think there is a posibility that when that rule 13.3.3 was created to improve/correct rule 13.2.3 in a sense that the shuttle may pass below or through the net, but BWF may not have considered the posibility that the shuttle can fly around the side of the post.
     
  11. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,664
    Likes Received:
    292
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Speaking of flying around the post, wasn't there a video on YouTube showing Peter Rasmussen iirc slicing birds with so much spin that it swerves aroung the side of the posts below net level!
     
  12. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,284
    Likes Received:
    551
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    actually it was Jonas Rasmussen!
     
  13. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,664
    Likes Received:
    292
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    I stand corrected. I did say "iirc". :)
     
  14. Yoppy

    Yoppy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,810
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney
    No actually shuttle can bend too. The other day I accidently hit a straight backhand push from the mid left side of the court which was going wide and 20cm below the net height to the side of the post, and guess what? It landed in.

    I was playing indoor. It could be some some wind, but even wind it happens.

    Another possibility is that when you are not sure if the shuttle is in or out and then made the shot anyway from what turns out to be out position, which then your shot curve around the post and landed in.
     
    #14 Yoppy, Aug 3, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2011
  15. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,284
    Likes Received:
    551
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    no problem. i just wanted to tell u that iaaudnrc.... :D
     
  16. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    .
    It is considered as 'In'; because the stand is part of the playing space above the court. But the shuttlecock must travel over the net height, not under.

    However, if the shuttlecock hits the ceiling above and lands in, it's a 'Fault'. I have always wondered why? :D:D:D
    .
     
    #16 chris-ccc, Aug 4, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2011
  17. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,664
    Likes Received:
    292
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    ^^Say you're in a school gym with multi purpose 10 foot tall volleyball posts (using the badminton notch height for the net of course) set into the floor a foot wide of outside court lines on each side. You hit the bird heading towards the post above the net, it's heading out of the court but hits the tall post and falls in. So you consider that "in"? :shakehead:
     
  18. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Playing space above the court

    .
    A stand a foot wide of outside the court is not part of the playing space above the court. It's only when the stand is placed on the Doubles outer line that we can consider that the stand is part of the playing space above the court.
    .
     

Share This Page