Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Racket changes hand during the official tournament

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by arfandy, Aug 30, 2011.

  1. arfandy

    arfandy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    China, Thailand, & Indonesia
    I've been wondering for a while now, since many pro players are able to use both their hands to play badminton, either left/right hand.. so would that be okay to use either left/right hand during the play? for example, LD is a left-hand player, then in the middle of the game he suddenly decided to use his right-hand to confuse the opponent. would that be okay? or LCW uses left-hand side and vice versa throughout the entire game.
     
  2. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I've never seen it done, but I don't think there's anything in the rules to prevent it.
     
  3. BaoQingWang

    BaoQingWang Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Profesional
    Location:
    HDB
    it is okay, no rules forbiding you change racket hand. in fact you can bring two rackets both left and right hands. again, there is no rules saying you can;t only the balancing is a problem.
     
  4. KinkySmasher

    KinkySmasher Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Wait a minute...this can't be true can it? :p
     
  5. BaoQingWang

    BaoQingWang Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Profesional
    Location:
    HDB
    Again, in Laws of Badminton, there is no section or specific rules saying one racket per player. Like i said, the balancing would be a problem if someone is to carry two rackets with hands. Holding shuttle during service is another challenge!
    So YES, i mean it :)
    I was surprised too when i heard it from a senior umpire
     
  6. Mark A

    Mark A Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6,271
    Likes Received:
    136
    Occupation:
    Warehouse dogsbody, Stringer, Panda reseller,
    Location:
    St Helens, UK
    I have: a lad called Connor at my club did it regularly enough that he didn't have a backhand:D. He's so ambidextrous I can't tell which is his dominant hand - he bowls right-handed but, like me, plays snooker left-handed...
     
  7. CanucksDynasty

    CanucksDynasty Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Working to pay for badminton stuff
    Location:
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Dual-wielding rackets. That would be a sight to see.
     
  8. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,285
    Likes Received:
    552
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    interesting. the only thing that can be derived from the law is that every where "racket" is referred to, it is singular and not plural...
     
  9. CanucksDynasty

    CanucksDynasty Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Working to pay for badminton stuff
    Location:
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Maybe because only one racket can hit the shuttle at one time?
    Or it only takes one racket to cause an infraction?
     
  10. BaoQingWang

    BaoQingWang Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Profesional
    Location:
    HDB
    by the way, the law of badminton does regulate on the shape of the racket. So, i am afraid the creative dual-wielding rackets could not be used :)
     
  11. BaoQingWang

    BaoQingWang Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Profesional
    Location:
    HDB
    yeah, agree. only one racket hits the shuttle in one end. if the law says racket(s), it means fault :)
     

Share This Page