Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

racquets passing over the net

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Intr3pid, Oct 22, 2005.

  1. Intr3pid

    Intr3pid Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    hi

    I was wondering if racquets can pass a bit over the net. Because sometimes my drives requires me to move my racquet realy fast and sometimes it goes a wee bit over the net ( not touching it of course )
     
  2. tbone

    tbone Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    your closet
    Yes you can do this! As long as you hit the bird on your side of the net and the racket passes over the net as part the motion, there is no problem!:D
     
  3. w3wmfhe

    w3wmfhe Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    san francisco ca
    i do believe anytime if ur racquet pass over the net..it is fault
     
  4. __Lam

    __Lam Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    uhh yeah thats what i thought, isnt it a fault? its called.. a reach?
     
  5. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    nope, tbone is corect, as long as you make contact on your side of the net then cross over its ok but if your racquet touches the net then its a fault or if you dont make contact on your side of the net its a fault.
     
  6. DinkAlot

    DinkAlot dcbadminton
    Brand Representative

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    12,457
    Likes Received:
    68
    Occupation:
    www.dcbadminton.net
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    So to clarify:

    1) OK if I make contact with the shuttle on my side and the racket crosses the net.

    2) Not OK if I make contact with the shuttle on my side and the racket hits the net.

    Can this be said: any time during the point, if you touch the net, you lose that point.
     
  7. DSAS6

    DSAS6 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Montreal
    1) correct but dont try and pass it too much now lol
    2) correct and ... correct, dont touch net. :D
     
  8. __Lam

    __Lam Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    ok so if contact with shuttle is made on my side but i hit it and my entire arm is on the other side, its legal?
     
  9. Neil Nicholls

    Neil Nicholls Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cannock, UK
    No
    only the racquet may pass over the net as part of your follow through
    No part of you body is allowed to pass over the net
    (under and around the net are different matters)
     
  10. DinkAlot

    DinkAlot dcbadminton
    Brand Representative

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    12,457
    Likes Received:
    68
    Occupation:
    www.dcbadminton.net
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    What's the rulling about body parts passing under the net and around the net?
     
  11. OniMenoKyo

    OniMenoKyo Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    13. Faults
    It is a 'fault':

    13.4 if, in play, a player:
    13.4.2 invades an opponent's court over the net with the racket or person except as permitted in Law 13.3;

    13.3 if, when in play, the initial point of contact with the shuttle is not on the striker's side of the net. (The striker may, however, follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke);

    So yes, it is ok to physically reach over under certain conditions.

    Edit: Forgot to address under and around the net.

    13.4.3 invades an opponent's court under the net with racket or person such that an opponent is obstructed or distracted;

    As for around the net, the poles are usually located well outside the court so that it makes it nearly impossible to reach around...
     
    #11 OniMenoKyo, Oct 24, 2005
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2005
  12. scchang

    scchang Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Mechanical Engineer
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Rule 13 Faults
    Rule 13.4.3 Invade an opponent's court under the net with racket or person such that an opponent is obstructed or distracted.

    Therefore, as long as the opponent is not obstructed or distracted, the player is entitled to pass under the net.

    -SC
     
  13. DinkAlot

    DinkAlot dcbadminton
    Brand Representative

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    12,457
    Likes Received:
    68
    Occupation:
    www.dcbadminton.net
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    OK, thanks. :D :D :D
     
  14. Neil Nicholls

    Neil Nicholls Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cannock, UK
    around the net rarely happens.
    it is most likely to be when a players has to run from the back of the court to the front very quickly and cannot stop before touching the net, so their whole body continues forward and goes around the post

    I remember Ha Tae Kwon doing this in a match between KDM/HTK and Candra/Sigit. Candra playfully aimed a kick at Ha's backside as he was returning to his own side of the net
     
  15. DinkAlot

    DinkAlot dcbadminton
    Brand Representative

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    12,457
    Likes Received:
    68
    Occupation:
    www.dcbadminton.net
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    LOL! This must have been a sight to see! :D
     
  16. Nephrus

    Nephrus Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    British Columbia

    OMG when was this match i must add it to my collection !
     
  17. charzord

    charzord Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    markham, canada
    Sucess

    I FOUND THE AMAZING THREAD WITH PICTURES!!!!1 *pats myself on my back* Check out this thread with amazing pictures by Gollum. Perfect answer to your question.

    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=23489&highlight=plane+net
     
  18. Loh

    Loh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,838
    Likes Received:
    336
    Occupation:
    Stock Broker
    Location:
    Singapore Also Can
    I have some doubts about this as the hand holding the racket should presumably form part of the racket. On a practical note, I just wonder how an entire arm can cross over without it, or other body parts, touching the net. Even if this is the case, the striker would certainly be disadvantaged somewhat in that he will be slowed down in returning to 'base' position and hitting a return shot.

    Quote:

    As for around the net, the poles are usually located well outside the court so that it makes it nearly impossible to reach around...

    Not true for official events. The poles should be planted on the doubles line on each side. I suppose one reason for this is that if the poles are set apart otherwise, there will be a distortion to the height at the ends and in the centre of the net.

    In this connection you may be interested to know that if the shuttle is hit from outside the striker's court and it travels around (or outside) the net post (not over the net) and lands on the opponent's court, it is a legal shot and a winning point if the opponent does nothing about it. :)
     
    #18 Loh, Oct 24, 2005
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2005
  19. Neil Nicholls

    Neil Nicholls Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cannock, UK
    It might have been the All England 2002 Semi-Final
    I'll try to remember to check tonight, unless someone else can confirm it before then.
     
  20. Neil Nicholls

    Neil Nicholls Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cannock, UK
    Why would you presume that?
    If you want to consider the hand is part of the racquet, then I will say you have an illegal racquet under Law 4.3 :p
     

Share This Page