Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

receiving serve after win?

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by westwood_13, Dec 5, 2006.

  1. westwood_13

    westwood_13 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    With the new scoring system, I find it advantageous to receive serve to start a game/match, even if I have won the toss... it's much easier to gain the initial point off attacking, in my experience.

    However, if I win the first game, is it possible for me to forfeit my serve in the second game (ie: let the other player serve first, though I won)?

    This question was also asked on the badminton Canada web site, but I didn't really understand the answer the umpire gave.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Dummey

    Dummey Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    UCSD - La Jolla, California
    I don't believe you can. If I remmeber correctly the rule said something about the winner for the previous set has to serve in the following set.
     
  3. lorus_blue

    lorus_blue Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    i would gladly accept the offer
     
  4. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    This is dealt with very clearly in the laws:

    "7.6 The side winning a game shall serve first in the next game."
     

Share This Page