Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Returning a serve out of service box

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Malzer, Sep 30, 2013.

  1. Malzer

    Malzer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alberta
    Can the receiver leave his service box after the server makes initiates the serve (i.e. makes contact with the shuttle)?


    Example: Is the receiver allowed to move forward out of his service box towards the net to return the serve or do his/her feet need to be within the service box when he first makes contact with the shuttle?

    I have a playing partner that leaps forward out of his service box like a wild gazelle to return my serves when I serve short. Would love to hear that he's cheating but from my interpretation of the rules it appears that he's allowed to leave the service box as soon as the server makes contact with the shuttle to initiate the serve.
     
  2. Rob3rt

    Rob3rt Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3,412
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Germany
    You can return the service from any position on the court!
    But it's a fault if the receiver moves before you even hit the shuttle.
     
  3. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,211
    Likes Received:
    280
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    the receiver must be inside the box before the server strikes the shuttle.

    once after the server strikes the shuttle, it is anybody's game, the receiver can go anywhere he wants.
     
  4. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    10
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    If the receiver moves before server strikes the shuttle

    .
    I think the OP is not sure if the receiver is allowed to move before he/she serves.

    The answer is correct - once after the server strikes the shuttle, the receiver can move. But if the receiver moves before server strikes the shuttle, then it is a fault.
    .
     
    #4 chris-ccc, Sep 30, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2013
  5. gundamzaku

    gundamzaku Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    working professional
    Location:
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    the last part of your question "he's allowed to leave the service box as soon as the server makes contact with the shuttle to initiate the serve" meaning you are not questioning whether a receiver is allow to or not prior to the serve...because he/she is not allowed. but as soon as you strike the shuttle, he's allow to go anywhere he wants. meaning...as soon as you strike the shuttle on a serve, your opponent is allow to spring forward like a wild gazelle to return your serves when you serve short. :)
     
  6. ChubbyCheshire

    ChubbyCheshire Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Crewe, UK
    Sounds like he's vulnerable to a flick serve !
     

Share This Page