Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Role / power of Tournament director

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by aileyemd, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. aileyemd

    aileyemd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    physician
    Location:
    Philippines
    May I inquire , What is the role of a tournament director? If the tournament director sees a fault which the umpire did not see, does she have to power to over rule the call? Call the attention of the umpire?
    During a high school girls double championship team A was serving to team B, score 20 / 19 . ( match point )Team A shot a strong lift causing the ball to go out of bounds or outside but before the shuttle hits the ground the coach of team B caught the ball. The umpire did not notice this so the shot was called an out. The tournament director on the other hand saw what the coach did and told the coach not to catch or touch the ball while still in the air. Team B eventually won the game.
    Was there any badminton rules broken? In the spirit of sportsmanship and fairness what should have been done by the tournament director. Is the tournament director also the chief umpire? Thank you very much.
     
  2. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    PanAm Umpire
    Location:
    California, United States
    The "chief" umpire would be the tournament referee. They are the ones who's call is absolutely final. In this case, if I were a referee, I would not have overturned the umpire's call. How far out was the shuttle going to be? Far enough that team B would not have attempted a return? Anyways, the referee would then have a talk with the coach if it seems like he/she has interfered with play.

    The fact that the umpire did not notice it is why it cannot be overturned. The referee is only allowed to overturn a ruling if it was a ruling based on question of law, not on fact (what the umpire DID or DID NOT see). So if there was a referee and team A were to complain, if the umpire claims he did not see it, then there is nothing the referee can do.
     
  3. AlanY

    AlanY Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    England
    just imagine if it was LYB who caught that birdie of the last point of the 2012 London Olympic Men's singles final!

    if the coach caught it before it landed, he/she also gave a signal to the player not to return, isn't it? and that is definitely against the rules.
     
  4. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    PanAm Umpire
    Location:
    California, United States
    Luckily, in international tournaments, coaches are seated quite a ways away from the back line. The shuttle shouldn't be traveling that far unless there was a strong wind of some sort. I wonder in the situation of the above, how far is the coach seated from that back line. Did he like reach far out to catch it? If he didn't move from his seat and it landed near him and he caught it, it should be fine.

    13. FAULTS
    It shall be a ‘fault’:
    13.3 if in play, the shuttle:
    13.3.6 touches any other object or person outside the court;
     
  5. AlanY

    AlanY Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    England
    that's interesting.
    what if it was so far out, say the umpire's chair high up, is that still a fault.

    or the umpire has the discretion whether to apply the rule by the letters?
     
  6. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,207
    Likes Received:
    278
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    it's certainly be a fault/out if the shuttle hits the umpire chair. the side who last hit the shuttle will lose a point.

    in the original scenario though, I wonder if these rules could've applied:

    14 LETS
    14.1 ‘Let’ shall be called by the umpire, or by a player (if there is no umpire), to halt play.
    14.2It shall be a ‘let”, if:
    14.2.5 in the opinion of the umpire, play is disrupted or a player of the opposing side is distracted by
    a coach;
    14.2.7 any unforeseen or accidental situation has occurred.
     
  7. aileyemd

    aileyemd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    physician
    Location:
    Philippines
    Thank you very much.
     

Share This Page