Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Rule Query - Reaching over the net

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by collinsc, Oct 26, 2009.

  1. collinsc

    collinsc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swindon
    Hi

    Are you allowed to hit the shuttlecock by reaching over the net? (if you dont touch it).

    tHANKS
     
  2. wun.sun

    wun.sun Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    You must contact the shuttle on your side of the net. However, you are allowed to follow through over the net.
     
  3. hhwoot

    hhwoot Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Graduate Student
    Location:
    Urbana, IL
    wun.sun is correct, the relevant law is:

    Law 13
    It shall be a 'fault':
    (13.4) if, in play, a player:
    (13.4.2) invades an opponent’s court over the net with racket or person except that the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the striker’s side of the net;
     
  4. TedTheFarmer

    TedTheFarmer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancs,Eng
    Putting aside the complications with the actual rule being stated, in basic terms, the part of the racquet that the shuttle hits cannot be on the opponent's side of the net.
     
  5. collinsc

    collinsc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swindon
    Thanks very much - appreciated
     
  6. rtc35

    rtc35 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm somewhat of a beginner looking for clarification on this statement:

    ...the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the striker’s side of the net...

    My interpretation of this rule is that at the moment of contact, no part of the racquet may be over the net, even if the point of contact is on my own side of the net. However, the statement by TedTheFarmer 'the part of the racquet that the shuttle hits cannot be on the opponent's side of the net' sounds as if it's permissible that the tip of the racquet can be over the net so long as the point of contact isn’t. I’m making an assumption from this statement, but can somebody say for certain whether this assumption is correct? I’ve wondered about this since I began playing.

    Thanks
     
  7. abedeng

    abedeng Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    72
    Occupation:
    Occupying Tall Buildings
    Location:
    In Competition
    Your interpretation is correct, rtc35.

    A long time ago when the game was slower than it is now, it used to be that the striker may only follow the shuttle over the net after the shuttle is no longer in play (ie. it has hit the ground or the opponent).
     
  8. rtc35

    rtc35 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Okay, that's good to know. Thanks.
     

Share This Page