Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Rule Query - Touching the net

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by collinsc, Oct 26, 2009.

  1. collinsc

    collinsc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swindon
    Hi

    If team A hit the shuttlecock and team b are running in to meet it - the shuttlecock then hits the net and drops down on the side of team A but Team B then hit the net, i.e. after the net has been hit by the shuttlecock, then whose point is it!?

    Thanks
     
  2. hhwoot

    hhwoot Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Graduate Student
    Location:
    Urbana, IL
    After the shuttle hits the net and starts to fall on Team A's side of the court, it is no longer "in play". Team B will not be called for a fault for touching the net, since the shuttle is not in play, therefore Team B will receive the point.

    Law 15
    A shuttle is not in play when:
    (15.1) it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker’s side of the net;
     
  3. Resistor

    Resistor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    What about if team B hit the net at the same time that shuttle is on the chord of the net? Chances will be 50/50 falling over to other side.
     
  4. hhwoot

    hhwoot Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Graduate Student
    Location:
    Urbana, IL
    If the shuttle is still at the top of the tape, then it is still in play. In your scenario Team B will be faulted and lose the point.
     

Share This Page