Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Rules: Stupid Question but.......

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by varadero, Dec 7, 2005.

  1. varadero

    varadero New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    I know this may seem stupid however I cannot find anywhere in the rules a clear definition of IN vs Out.
    I have searched the forum here and I believe that there is as much confusion amonsgt others.
    A discusion started in our club where some people believe that if any part of the shuttle strikes the line then it is in. Others believe that it has to be the head.

    Can anyone point to a clear rule on this please?
     
  2. PhoenixMateria

    PhoenixMateria Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    It doesn't matter what part touches first, but werever any part of it touches, that's your reference point. For example, if the shuttle somehow touches the line with its feathers before the head touches out, then it should be considered in.

    So the first part that touches the floor, basically.
     
  3. rainbow

    rainbow Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    canada
    Since the cork is heavier, the shuttle will always land cork first. Any part of the cork touches the line, it's IN.
     
  4. OTFK

    OTFK Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    engineer
    Location:
    Medicine Hat, AB, Canada
    Well, I often see the tip land first (since it is the heavier end of the shuttle - it will have a tendency to point downward first).
    I have not seen a feather part touches the ground before the tip (even on a tumbling net shot).
     
  5. DinkAlot

    DinkAlot dcbadminton
    Brand Representative

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    12,457
    Likes Received:
    68
    Occupation:
    www.dcbadminton.net
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Of course not, that's the way a shuttle is designed, cork first. :D
     
  6. Winex West Can

    Winex West Can Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Hi Tech
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    I think the others has answered your question to a degree. Basically only the cork should touch the court first. Even if the feathers touches the line after the cork has landed (outside of the line), it is still out as the cork is the first point of contact
     
  7. Dzgdz

    Dzgdz Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    finance
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    It is possible that feathers touch the court before the cork. I saw this sitting on the long line. It happens when you have a kill hit just above the net and shuttle is flying all the length of the court.

    The flight path is so tight that it is possible (and I saw this) that feathers touch the back line before the cork (which hits out).

    In such a case the shuttle is in.


    regards

    dzgdz
     
  8. Andy Eh

    Andy Eh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Windsor Area...
    ok weve figured out that the cork should always land first but the bird hits different angles and we all know that the whole cork never hits the ground. That the cork will usually land on an angle so do u take from the very tip or from the cork itself because if u take form very tip and u call it long the competition will complain every time
     
  9. Gollum

    Gollum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,379
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    It's really very simple :p

    The first part of the shuttle to hit the ground is what matters.

    If any part of the shuttle's initial contact with the ground is on or within any part of a boundary line, then the shuttle is IN.
     
  10. varadero

    varadero New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    Guys,
    Thanks for all the replies.........

    I agree that we have reached a general consensus and it all makes perfect sense but it appears that it isn't clearly defined in the rules.
    The only way in the rules, as far as I can see, is that it is out when the line judge calls it out. Rule 17.4
     
  11. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    Hmm. You need to read the laws a bit more carefully. Everything is very clear there. They are definitive. How could a line judge call a shuttle out if the laws do not define what is out?

    Fortunately the line judge is aided in his thankless task by laws 1.3, 11.5 and 13.2.1 which say

    "1.3 All lines form part of the area which they define. "

    "11.5 [font=Times New Roman,Times New Roman]Scoring and serving[/font]
    [font=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][/font]
    [font=Times New Roman,Times New Roman][/font]11.5.1 If the receiving side makes a ‘fault’ or the shuttle ceases to be in play because it touches the surface of the court inside the receiving side’s court, the serving side scores a point and the server serves again.

    11.5.2 If the serving side makes a ‘fault’ or the shuttle ceases to be in play because it touches the surface of the court inside the serving side’s court, the server loses the right to continue serving, with no point scored by either side. "

    and that a shot is a fault

    "if in play, the shuttle:

    13.2.1 lands outside the boundaries of the court (ie not on or within the boundary lines); "

    Seems pretty clear to me.


     
  12. varadero

    varadero New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    Thanks for that - I think I have enough to successfully argue the case.

    I do think I could get some push back from people arguing over whether or not the feathers touched the ground before the cork but life is to short.

    thanks
    Varadero
     

Share This Page