Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Rules when a shuttle is stuck in the net

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by sslam72, Jan 22, 2006.

  1. sslam72

    sslam72 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Can anyone clarify the ruling when a shuttle is hit by a player and...
    1) the shuttle gets trapped in the net on the same side of the player who played the original stroke.
    2) the shuttles hits the top of the net cord rolls over to the opponents side but gets trapped in the net on the opponents side as it rolls down the net on the opponents side.
    3) the shuttle hits the tape and the feathers get caught in such a way the the cork is on the opponents side but some of the feathers are on the player's side.
    4) the shuttle hits the tape and the feathers get caught in such a way the the cork is on the player's side but some of the feathers are on the opponents side.
     
  2. lindanfan

    lindanfan Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    student/ working in sport shop/ stringing
    Location:
    surrey, england
    all i know is if a player hits the shuttle and it goes over the net but is stuck on the tape, so it's on the over side of the net but stuck then that is a let. if you hit it and it gets stuck your side of the net then it is a fault.
     
  3. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    # 1 would be a fault
    #'s 2,3 & 4 would be lets from what i know, cause you never got the chance to hit the shuttle but your opponent never really commited a fault or won the point either. I could always be wrong...i would actually like to know if im right or wrong and if somebody could correct me if i am.
     
  4. sslam72

    sslam72 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Thanks for your replies so far.

    I thought the same as you guys but there's a chap at my club who believes that it was 2,3 and 4 was counted as an advantage to the stroke player.

    Will wait to see what else comes out of it.
     
  5. sslam72

    sslam72 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    I've also witnessed another incident where the opponent played a drop shot which failed to go over the net. Instead it hit the net and began to fall downwards.

    However, my partner lunged at the net and in doing so, he struck the net a split second before the shuttle reached the ground.

    In this situation I thought that the shuttle was already dead as it was on its way downwards and could not have gone over the net...but the opposition called a fault as they felt that a fault had to be called as the shuttle hadn't hit the ground.
     
  6. badrad

    badrad Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,650
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    currently unemployed
    Location:
    Surrey, Canada
    17. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY

    A shuttle is not in play when:
    17.2 It strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker's side of the net;
     
  7. lindanfan

    lindanfan Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    student/ working in sport shop/ stringing
    Location:
    surrey, england
    so the the oppenents got it wrong;)
     
  8. sslam72

    sslam72 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    I think I'll have to get a copy of the rules and highlight it in preparation for the return leg of the match!
     
  9. badrad

    badrad Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,650
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    currently unemployed
    Location:
    Surrey, Canada
    and get your partner to work on checking his lunge and stroke. it could be possible if the shuttle was on your side, he could have faulted by touching the net after he makes his shot anyways, negating any spectacular shotmaking.
     
  10. Greenman

    Greenman Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Where can these badminton rules be found?
     
  11. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,211
    Likes Received:
    280
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
  12. lindanfan

    lindanfan Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    student/ working in sport shop/ stringing
    Location:
    surrey, england
    i'm pretty sure they can be found on badmintonengland.co.uk
     
  13. Dzgdz

    Dzgdz Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    finance
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    this is all true, but only if not during the serve

    when such a situation occurs during the serve then you have fault (the shuttle wouldn't be able to reach service line on the other side)

    regards

    dzgdz
     
  14. serviceover

    serviceover Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Logistics
    Location:
    Germany
    1. Fault.
    2. Let.
    3. Let.

    Except on service, where all three are faults...
     
  15. lindanfan

    lindanfan Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    student/ working in sport shop/ stringing
    Location:
    surrey, england
    what would happen if the shuttle gets stuck on the net from service,(on your oppenents side) and your oppenent touches the net whilst the shuttle is stuck?
     
  16. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    The serve passes to the receiver - it is a service fault.
     
  17. Loh

    Loh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,597
    Likes Received:
    299
    Occupation:
    Stock Broker
    Location:
    Singapore Also Can
    It depends on which event comes first.

    Once the shuttle touched and got stuck on the net, it is a fault on the server and the shuttle is no longer in play.

    But if before the bird touches the net, the opponent touched it first, then fault on the opponent. :D
     
  18. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    Yes you are quite right, but he did specifically say "your oppenent touches the net whilst the shuttle is stuck".
     
  19. Dzgdz

    Dzgdz Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    finance
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    when both sides make the fault in the same moment (as I understand it is in your example) there is a let

    for example there is a let when you have service fault and receiver's fault announced in the same time

    regards

    dzgdz
     
  20. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    But "is stuck" definitely implies that it is already stuck.
     

Share This Page