Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Ruling on Birdie Impaling Racket String Bed and Getting Stuck

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by cactaur, Oct 21, 2013.

  1. cactaur

    cactaur New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    So this happened in the middle of a point we were playing where the birdie impaled the string bed and got stuck in the racket. On impact there was a loud cracking sound where the middle vertical string pair snapped and the bird went through the remaining string bed all in one stroke. We gave our opponents the point but what would be the correct ruling? Let? Fault?

    Birdie Stuck in Racket.jpg
     
  2. phili

    phili Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    You did the right thing. It's a fault.
     
  3. Fidget

    Fidget Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,303
    Likes Received:
    46
    Occupation:
    something far too busy for my badminton needs
    Location:
    Canada
    You may have lost the point, but you have a great photo! :)
     
  4. Mark A

    Mark A Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6,164
    Likes Received:
    110
    Occupation:
    Warehouse dogsbody, Stringer, Panda reseller,
    Location:
    St Helens, UK
    This happened to me at a tourney once - that moment of utter bewilderment when you look for the shuttle on court...
     
  5. VegiSmash

    VegiSmash Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OutHere
  6. mater

    mater Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Postal Worker
    Location:
    Badminton Central
    Excellent pic on reminder of where NOT to make contact with birdie on racket. I'm more impressed how the racket is balanced and standing for the pic. ;)
     
  7. pretzel

    pretzel Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I guess you could have tossed your racket over the net and if it landed in the court you'd have won the point! :p
     
  8. gundamzaku

    gundamzaku Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    working professional
    Location:
    Santa Clara County, California, USA
    fault is correct, btw, what is the make and model of the racket as well as the shuttle???
     
  9. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,266
    Likes Received:
    530
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    I see "FZ FORZA" printed in the inside frame.

    as for the original question. yes. it is a fault.

    and to understand why, as this is essentially the same as carrying the shuttle. understandably, it is unusual and the hitter didn't intentional do it, but non-the-less, the only person to blame is the person holding the racket.
     

Share This Page