Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Scuffy shot across the face of the racket

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by techno79, Dec 2, 2012.

  1. techno79

    techno79 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    I already understand the following (please correct me if I'm wrong):
    1. Hitting the shuttle twice is a fault (unless it hit the strings and then the frame using one fluid stroke).
    2. A stroke that carries the shuttle is a fault.
    3. A slice shot is a perfectly legal shot.
    A slice means the shuttle skids across the face of the racket to "some" degree.

    My question is, if you did this when not intending to, is it still a valid shot? Specifically, the shuttle is being hit by one fluid stroke and only being hit once but the shuttle appears skid across the face of the racket in a quite scuffy way (more so than an intentional slice).

    I have always grouped this the same as doing a frame shot in that: it's not a clean hit but it was not intentional. If it wins the rally then I would apologise but there is no fault.

    Am I right in this assumption or am I wrong?

    I know of at least one player in our social club who calls a fault upon himself when he does this but I think it is wrong of him to call a fault on himself for this shot (and I have said to him directly as well). However, he is a very modest person both on and off court so this could be his personality.

    Anyway, grateful if people could share their thoughts and opinions.

    Many thanks
     
  2. Fidget

    Fidget Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    54
    Occupation:
    something far too busy for my badminton needs
    Location:
    Canada
    Sounds perfectly legal.

    An outright "carry" or "slingshot" is illegal. As is hitting the bird twice. But a "scud" like you describe, in one fluid motion, is legitimate. (It better be because I did one for a winner yesterday. :eek:)

    So tell your friend to loosen up and go wild! Just hope this sudden, guilt-lifting freedom doesn't lead him on to a wanton life of crime. ;)
     
  3. Cycril

    Cycril Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    -
    Location:
    Penang, Malaysia
    so you mean that he is committing himself a foul when he hit the shuttle with the frame in accident?
    in my opinion, i don't think it's a foul because we can't even purposely hit the shuttle with the frame? If we can, why do we still string our rackets?
     
  4. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    no, cycril - nothing to do with racket frame.
     
  5. techno79

    techno79 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for confirming what I thought. It's good to know the definitive rule.

    No, what I was saying is that when this player did a "scuffy" shot (legal but not a clean hit) he would claim that his own shot was a fault. If I was playing with him or against him, I would often ask him if he was sure because I thought it was not but he always tends to say that his "scuffy" shots are a fault.
     
  6. Cycril

    Cycril Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    -
    Location:
    Penang, Malaysia
    i get you now, but i thought these kind of ''scuffy'' shots are legal>?
     
  7. techno79

    techno79 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, exactly what I thought but I wanted to know for sure (hence the thread).
     
  8. Line & Length

    Line & Length Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Whilst it doesn't look (or sound) good, the shot is legal. However, your club-mate is allowed to call a fault on any of his own shots, if he so wishes.

    Personally, I don't mind the occasional frame, so long as the shuttle does roughly where I wanted it to. For example, if I meant to do a drop, then it's probably fine. However, if I smash and the shuttle dribbles over the net, I'd probably call a fault myself.

    OP states that this is a 'social club', so perhaps he's playing socially. Perhaps he wants to win with only 'proper' shots. Perhaps it annoys him when others hit scruffy winners so he leads by example. Regardless, you should respect his wishes.

    This bloke sounds like the sort of sporting example most clubs would benefit from.
     
  9. vixter

    vixter Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Germany
    He is most likely under the disillusion that this is a fault, and therefore is calling it on himself. Either a shot is a fault or it's not. In my opinion it would be a very weird and even unwanted behavior to call "faults" on your own lucky shots. :)
     

Share This Page