Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Separation of the Shuttlecock

Discussion in 'Shuttlecock' started by Pball, Dec 1, 2004.

  1. Pball

    Pball Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    manila
    Guys, need some comment and insights.. this happened to me a couple of days ago in a tournament. The opposing player smashed the bird, bird separated and the cork went to our side of the net, the feathers didn't go over the net. The umpire ruled it a fault, in our favor. I was thinking a let situation. Any comments appreciated.

    thanks in advance
     
  2. altreality

    altreality Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Not a rules expert but I would have have thought it right to replay the point...
     
  3. Gollum

    Gollum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    The umpire was wrong; you were right.

    14. LETS
    14.1 'Let' shall be called by the umpire, or by a player (if there is no umpire), to halt play if:
    14.1.4 during play, the shuttle disintegrates and the base completely separates from the rest of the shuttle;​
     
  4. Kamen

    Kamen Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    KL, MAL
    This leads to my next question. "What about few feathers disintergrated from the cork? Can player halt/stop the rally and ask for let?
     
  5. Cheung

    Cheung Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    16,147
    Likes Received:
    10
    Occupation:
    wannabe badminton phototaker
    Location:
    Outside the box
    no.

    Only if the base completely seperates from the shuttle.
     
  6. Kamen

    Kamen Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    KL, MAL
    thanks!

    i had another experience too. while in a middle of a rally, opponent smashed, the shuttle "folded" as a result of the impact and flew like an "arrow" into my court. due to the unsually fast smash, i could not defend. was it a let?

    thanks again!
     
  7. Gollum

    Gollum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    According to the rules, it is not a let. I'm willing to bet you were using a plastic shuttle - (good) feather shuttles never do this. Since this was a casual game (not a formal tournament), you could reach an agreement with your opponent to play a let.
     
  8. Cheung

    Cheung Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    16,147
    Likes Received:
    10
    Occupation:
    wannabe badminton phototaker
    Location:
    Outside the box
    I've had this happen occasionally with feather shuttles. Unfortunately, I am not the one who can hit it so hard:(

    If it lands in, then it is a point to the smasher. Lands out, then point to the defender.

    No let here.
     
  9. Kamen

    Kamen Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    KL, MAL
    Thanks!

    Thanks guys!

    Gollum: it was a feather shuttle. You are right to guess that though cause the probability of this happening is much higher with plastic shuttles.
     
  10. lignofix

    lignofix Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    fragrance tech
    Location:
    bandar singa
    I agree with you, by the way are you a qualified umpire?
     
  11. lignofix

    lignofix Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    fragrance tech
    Location:
    bandar singa
    folding is different from seperation, a let will not be allowed.the person who can smash in this way must have a powerful smash.
     
  12. Gollum

    Gollum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    No I'm not (thanks for the compliment though); I just like to know the rules, and I keep a copy handy.

    I am a qualified coach (low level, nothing special!), however, and it's important to know the rules if you are going to teach anyone badminton.
     

Share This Page