Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Serve hits opponent's partner

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by ApplesJack, Feb 18, 2014.

  1. ApplesJack

    ApplesJack New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    In doubles, if a player serves but it goes straight and hits the receiver's partner in the body, whose point is that?
     
  2. |_Footwork_|

    |_Footwork_| Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Smashikon, Driveland
    It's the server's point!
     
  3. alien9113

    alien9113 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Singapore
    Shouldn't it be the opponent's point? Since it goes straight to the receiver's partner instead of diagonally to the receiver.


     
    #3 alien9113, Feb 18, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2014
  4. |_Footwork_|

    |_Footwork_| Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Smashikon, Driveland
    And how do you know it wouldn't go to the cross court if the other opponent intercepts it?
    :cool:
     
  5. alien9113

    alien9113 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Singapore
    Hmm... no idea. If it would go cross court, I would return it and would not leave it to fate to decide if the opponent will error or my side would error.

    On another note, what if (only what if) if the receiver's partner is standing to close to the T and the shuttle hits him/her first (which may happen in TS' scenario) ? I have seen it happened before...
     
  6. |_Footwork_|

    |_Footwork_| Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Smashikon, Driveland
    Where ever the non-returning opponent stands, if he touches/hits the shuttle, it's a fault.
     
  7. nilesh123

    nilesh123 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,478
    Likes Received:
    135
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    vapi
    Yup itz d receivers point...
     
  8. |_Footwork_|

    |_Footwork_| Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Smashikon, Driveland
    :crying::crying::crying:
     
  9. krysser

    krysser Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    @Home
    Well look at rule 13.2.3 which states

    13. FAULTS

    It shall be a ‘fault’:

    13.1 if a service is not correct (Law 9.1);

    13.2 if, in service, the shuttle:

    13.2.1 is caught on the net and remains suspended on its top;

    13.2.2 after passing over the net, is caught in the net; or

    13.2.3 is hit by the receiver’s partner;

    So the point goes to the server.

    /Krysser
     
  10. AlanY

    AlanY Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    England
    that will be fun if the rule say it's the receiver's point as receiver's partner trying hard to offer his/her body to the birdie for some cheap point!

    just imagine when you're about to jump back to return a flip serve and your partner shout out "I get it"!
     
  11. craigandy

    craigandy Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,363
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    UK
    lol. Every time my partner was served to I would just run over and do a diving header and it would be my point. That would be a funny game to play and completely silly.


    The shuttle is still in play so it is a fault committed by the receiving team
    13.3.5 touches the person or dress of a player;
     
    #11 craigandy, Feb 18, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2014
  12. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,269
    Likes Received:
    533
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    it doesn't matter where the shuttle is heading towards. the receiver's partner touched the shuttlecock first and as a result the rally ends there and it is a fault commited by the receiver's partner.

    the rule is very clear. "heading towards" is never part of the rule. that will be too silly to put into the rule. for all we know, every shot in badminton is heading towards the direction where it will circle around the earth 3 times and be out when it lands in Australia. fact is that we will never know until the shuttle touches the floor and that's when it counts.

    point for the server.
     

Share This Page