Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

"Serve-switch"... is this legal?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by ZeroSOFInfinity, Jan 1, 2014.

  1. ZeroSOFInfinity

    ZeroSOFInfinity Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Is a "serve-switch" considered legal in a tournament? Last week during a match, one of the elders positioned himself to do a backhand serve.... then at the very last minute he "switched" to the forehand and served high. He did like 3 times in the match itself. Even my partner was like "WTF is that serve?". :confused:
     
  2. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    I think it's legal. There's nothing in the rules that I can see is against this.
     
  3. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Legal unless he switches after he has started forward motion of the racket head towards the shuttle, in which case it's a double motion and is considered a fault.
     
  4. swunk

    swunk Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    thailand
    only noobs do that...
     
  5. ChubbyCheshire

    ChubbyCheshire Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Crewe, UK
    To switch from backhand to forehand after setting up the racket head must move forward - so it is a fault
     
  6. latecomer

    latecomer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    40
    Occupation:
    selfemploy
    Location:
    aberdeen
    Legal unless the forward had begun as VISOR said, every player entitles to his her routine before serving.
     
  7. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,208
    Likes Received:
    278
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    there is nothing in the rules that governs whether the service is forehand or backhand, nor does it say anything about stance or preparation except that the first forward movement must be continuous and that the feet must be in constant contact to the ground.

    given that the server abide to those rules, he can be as creative and unconventional as he can.
     
  8. ChubbyCheshire

    ChubbyCheshire Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Crewe, UK
    Yes but try it, as soon as you turn your racket from backhand to front there will be some forward movement.
     
  9. latecomer

    latecomer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    40
    Occupation:
    selfemploy
    Location:
    aberdeen
    The key is changing from back hand to forehand. Let say if I serve high using the same routine every time, can a judge calls fault on me?
     

Share This Page