Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

service fault question

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by sting1988, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. sting1988

    sting1988 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    School
    Location:
    Canada
    Alright so I came across this problem while someone was playing. So it was 3rd game and the score was 23-22. The person serves and the rally went on normally until that person won the point bring the game to 24-22 (won). But apparently both players didn't notice that they were standing on the wrong side in the beginning of the serve until later. So I was wondering what the official international badminton rule would have to say about this. who gets the point and etc.?
     
  2. Many Ch0icez

    Many Ch0icez Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Canada
    I believe he has to give you the point. It's an illegal serve = you
     
  3. weeyeh

    weeyeh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Singapore
    12 SERVICE COURT ERRORS
    12.1 A service court error has been made when a player:
    12.1.1 has served or received out of turn; or
    12.1.2 has served or received from the wrong service court;
    12.2 If a service court error is discovered, the error shall be corrected and the existing score shall stand.

    The score stays so the guy who won, won.
     
  4. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yep, it's not considered a fault. It should be fixed as soon as it's noticed but in reality, it should not have affected the outcome of the point so no fault.
     
  5. sting1988

    sting1988 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    School
    Location:
    Canada
    YEEE I usually see judges giving reminder if players are standing on the wrong side but because this is amateur level it's hard to monitor. Thx for clearing that for me guys!
     
  6. extremenanopowe

    extremenanopowe Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    12,283
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    Chief Coach. Get only NCAP/NROC certified coach. C
    Location:
    SG. Go for NCAP-L2 certified coach.
    Good to bring this up. Also good for BWF to review the rules regularly. ;)
     

Share This Page