Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Service fault?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by StefanDO, Jun 15, 2012.

  1. StefanDO

    StefanDO Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    PhD student (Neuropsychology)
    Location:
    Dortmund, Germany
    Hi! :)

    Sometimes just before I wanted to serve, I accidently touched the shuttle with the back side of the racket head and the shuttle fell on the ground. This may have happened due to a slight backward movement of the racket face (but I did not start moving the racket face forwards). So far I passed the shuttle over to the opponents, automatically admitting a service fault. But was it really a service fault? I never wanted to argue on that as I wasn't sure. On the one hand the racket face touched the shuttle, on the other hand it was the back side of the racket head, and I had not started a forward motion with the racket face. Could I just have picked up the shuttle and served as if nothing had happened?
     
  2. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,765
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    UK
  3. StefanDO

    StefanDO Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    PhD student (Neuropsychology)
    Location:
    Dortmund, Germany
    Okay, I only hope in case it happens again, the opponent will accept it if I say that the service hasn't even started... Well, I should really print out the laws of badminton and carry them with me. :)
     
  4. diverdan

    diverdan Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    graduate
    Location:
    England
    Download them onto your phone!
     
  5. extremenanopowe

    extremenanopowe Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    12,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Chief Coach. Get only NCAP/NROC certified coach. C
    Location:
    SG. Go for NCAP-L2 certified coach.
    try not to take the risk by putting it too near. be safe. ;)
     
  6. diverdan

    diverdan Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    graduate
    Location:
    England
    Its always good to have a disagreement on court. It gets the blood going and may put your opponent off. They should know the rules! If you don't say anything then they will keep doing it.
     

Share This Page