Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Service rules question

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by crystalz13, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. crystalz13

    crystalz13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON
    When receiving the serve in doubles, does the non-receiving partner have the right to move, or must he remain immobile until the first service motion?
     
  2. cheongsa

    cheongsa Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Assistant Professor
    Location:
    Singapore
    The laws of badminton state that the partners of the server and receiver may take up any positions they like that do not unsight the server or the receiver.

    Nothing is said about the partners being stationary, so they can move all they want.
     
  3. globenstein

    globenstein Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    McGill student
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Wow I didn't think about that. Would there actually be an advantage in moving around though?
     
  4. cheongsa

    cheongsa Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Assistant Professor
    Location:
    Singapore
    Probably not, unless the intention for moving about is to distract the opponent, for which there is a rule against.
     

Share This Page