Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Service

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by tighri, Jun 9, 2002.

  1. tighri

    tighri Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Technical Consultant
    Location:
    Philippines
    In basketball, a free throw shooter is given 5 seconds to shoot the ball from the line. Beyond that, he is called for a violation. Is there a similar rule in badminton for a server?

    I am asking this because I recently played with someone who takes more than 15 seconds to serves the shuttle. It really took out the momentum from my game. If there is a rule against this, i'd definitely let him know.

    Can anyone help me on this?
     
  2. TDotSmAsHer

    TDotSmAsHer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student Gr 11 in Sept.------- badminton player/ad
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    :D
     
    #2 TDotSmAsHer, Jun 9, 2002
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2002
  3. klaphat

    klaphat Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    Where is the 5 second rule?

    I just went through the rules I have, but I could not find it.

    I am sure it is my fault, but I would appreciate if someone could help me out.
     
  4. Nic

    Nic Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    BCBF Member
    Location:
    USA
    I never know that there is a time set for serving. But, what took your opponent so long for his serve? Was he just get into position and holding the shuttle but think what serve he should makes or he was walking around in the court to try to recover his energy?

    9.1.1 neither side shall cause undue delay to the delivery of the service once server and receiver have taken up their respective positions
     
  5. Californian

    Californian Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    I've seen that kind of thing before--like the server trying to psyche himself up before delivering the serve. More often, though, I see the opposite--someone trying to "quick-serve" the opponent before he is fully set to receive. Strangely, most players accept the serve and play it.
     
  6. tighri

    tighri Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Technical Consultant
    Location:
    Philippines
    What took so long was he was "fixing" the shuttle...or should I say "aligning the feathers in a shuttlecock". Actually, everyone does this but this guys takes more than 15 seconds to do it. If there is actually a 5-second rule, I will let him know next time.
     
  7. tighri

    tighri Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Technical Consultant
    Location:
    Philippines
    BTW, ain't nothing wrong with the shuttle in this situation. He is ready to serve...but makes sure the feathers are "aligned".
     
  8. modious

    modious Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Thomson, Singapore.
    There ISN'T such kind of 5 seconds rule.
    Anyway if recreational play, I doubt pple will take usually Time Out to rest or dry yourself. So perhaps he's just delaying to offset your momentum, there's nothing wrong with that.
    International Players do that as well you know. But not by standing there for 15 seconds. By taking towel breaks when it's their serve.
     
  9. tighri

    tighri Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Technical Consultant
    Location:
    Philippines
    If its a towel break, I'm for that man. I need a break whenever I can. But this guy...You see, both sides are ready for the serve. I am in the position to receive, he is standing there on a serving stance and position, but the thing is, he is "aligning" the feathers first...for more than 15 seconds. I know that if this is in a tournament, the umpire would have something to say about it. :)
     
  10. modious

    modious Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Thomson, Singapore.
    Once in a while, it's okay.
    But if he does that everytime, then thats a problem.
    Tell him nicely!!
     
  11. TDotSmAsHer

    TDotSmAsHer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student Gr 11 in Sept.------- badminton player/ad
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Opps... my bad.... probably mixing up with another sport.. ..
     
  12. tighri

    tighri Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Technical Consultant
    Location:
    Philippines
    i'll do that modious, thanks. it has stop coz he does it everytime he serves...imagine that. :)
     
  13. Nic

    Nic Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    BCBF Member
    Location:
    USA
    play him with a Nylon shuttle, no alignment needed. ;)
     
  14. tighri

    tighri Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Technical Consultant
    Location:
    Philippines
    That's a good idea Nic...I'll do that man. Thanks. :)
     
  15. GoD

    GoD Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    England
    In doubles I often take a few seconds before serving just to ensure I get an accurate serve and because some opponents who aren't well balanced may lose balance and at this moment I flick them and they have no chance. I see this as a great tactic unless it is a fault but I'm told that the time I take is just withing the legal threshhold. What do you think Guyz?
     
  16. Nanashi

    Nanashi Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    it's actually a good idea to vary serving time... however, if you vary it, you might end up hitting the net.... try serving it almost instantly, because even though they aren't ready, many players still hit a crappy return... then when they get all ready for a quick serve, wait for 5 seconds, and then serve
     
  17. Mag

    Mag Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Graphic Designer
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    5 second limit

    True, there is no 5 second rule, but there is an agreement amongst umpires and judges in international tournaments that more than 5 seconds is considered "undue delay of the delivery of service". This is also used in the European EBU circuit, and locally in most countries.
     

Share This Page