Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Serving in double new rules

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by woodhead666, Mar 13, 2006.

  1. woodhead666

    woodhead666 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, England
    In the new rule you only get one serve in doubles. I cant find out how you decide who is serving, where you serve from and who do you serve too. Thanks
     
  2. Ian Davies

    Ian Davies Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Softwware Engineer
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Hi woodhead,

    Well from watching Grandstand the other week, I kind of get the feeling its like the following:

    1'st serve = normal right-hand court to opposing right-hand.

    If point/serve is lost(0-1), service goes to opponents 1'st serve (RH court) = 1-0.

    If they lose the serve/point (1-1), the service returns to what would have been the second server (under old style).

    Hope this is right and clear.
     
  3. woodhead666

    woodhead666 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, England
    Does you take it in turns to serve and do you have to serve to the opponent that didnt serve
     
  4. Trance

    Trance Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student ;)
    Location:
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    No. It will always be the right-hand court that serves first and then if you score a point you can then move to the left hand court with the same-server. Now, it may seem confusing at first, but you see, because of the rally-point and the fact that each team will gain a point on a rally, this accounts for that strange transition between servers. :)
     
  5. lindanfan

    lindanfan Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    student/ working in sport shop/ stringing
    Location:
    surrey, england
    i understand, it's like when you play a conditioned doubles game where one pair only gets one serve. they would always start serving from the right hand court
     
  6. fast3r

    fast3r Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    It depends on how many points you have when you gain the serve, if you have an even number the right hand player serves and if you have an odd number the left hand player serves.
     
  7. woodhead666

    woodhead666 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, England
    thank for your help.
     
  8. lindanfan

    lindanfan Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    student/ working in sport shop/ stringing
    Location:
    surrey, england
    i was just saying that i understood what Trance said. i didn't actually know that was the ruling... so which one is correct?
     
  9. taneepak

    taneepak Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,527
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Designing and producing quality feather shuttlecoc
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    In doubles under the new system there is no such rule requiring you to serve from the RH. Only the old system requires that. Which half you serve from is exactly like in singles, i.e. you serve from the RH if your side's score is an even number, and from LH if odd. The same rule applies to singles under the new system. Therefore, the new system has one rule on where you serve from, whether it is singles, doubles, or mixed doubles. Not so the old system, which actually has a non-standard system of serving for doubles and mixed doubles.
     
  10. PhoenixMateria

    PhoenixMateria Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Wait... Would that mean that both players in doubles would keep the same position (i.e. player 1 on RH and player 2 on LH) throughout the game? (for service, I mean)
     
  11. fast3r

    fast3r Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    No, they rotate as normal when they win a point. If they stayed in the same place they would serve to the same person every time.
     
  12. coops241180

    coops241180 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    E-commerce content co-ordinator
    Location:
    Lymm, United Kingdom
    i can't really see how difficult it is to understand the new rules (not that i agree with them..)

    the rules are simple. and there also some easy things to help remember.

    okay
    1. you only have one serve.
    2. you score a point when you win the rally
    3. if your score is even the person in the rh court serves, if your score is odd the person in the lh court serves
    4. you only swap sides when your side is serving

    okay. By some way of some clever deduction it turns out that players on the same side take turns serving (since when you lose serve the next time you get the serve you win a point and hence the person in the other court gets to serve)

    So as long as you remember who served last time and what the score is you can figure out where the players on your side should be standing.

    recievers however aren't so simple - but since you aren't changing sides unless you score it shouldn't be too difficult to remember.

    Coops
     
  13. serviceover

    serviceover Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Logistics
    Location:
    Germany
    Hope this attachment helps......
     

    Attached Files:

    #13 serviceover, Mar 20, 2006
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2006

Share This Page