Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Serving

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by andy, Apr 10, 2001.

  1. andy

    andy Guest

    Can you smash a serve that you are receiving from the opposite team? Also, can you leave your service court when you are the receiver in order to play the shuttle?
     
  2. Byro-Nenium

    Byro-Nenium Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Undergrad
    Location:
    Singapore
    Smashing your opposition's serve depends on the serve itself. Its a high one in mid court, why not?

    I believe, your not allowed to move until the shuttle is put into play. That means you can't leave your court before the shuttle has been served. That also includes making and noises or sounds that make distract your opponent.
     
  3. Zclyh3

    Zclyh3 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Not employed during academic school yeah
    Location:
    San Leandro/San Jose, CA
    I've seen someone constantly moving when they are getting ready to serve. When I say move, it's like "shaking" or dancing moving. Can he do that? Where does it say in the IBF rulebook? It's like a moving distraction to the serving side.
     
  4. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,211
    Likes Received:
    280
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    as long as both your feet are planted to the ground, i believe your body can move as much as you want up to the point it is not distracting your opponent.
     
  5. May

    May Guest

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not too sure but is it true ur arm has to be above or below ur waist when u serve????? It's either one, I am not too sure.
     
  6. sigit kind of shakes his racket when he receives serves, i guess up to that extent it is legal
     

Share This Page