Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Serving??????

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by bridgeco11, Apr 26, 2011.

  1. bridgeco11

    bridgeco11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    tiler
    Location:
    Essex
    I am a begginer at badminton and was hoping there may be someone who can help me clear up a couple of rules on serving and receiving serves in a singles game

    How many serves are you allowed to play? do you get a second serve like tennis? if the shuttlecock touches the net is that a let?

    Also when receiving a serve are you allowed past your service line to smash a shot close to the net? or do you have to stay within your box?

    Would be great if someone could help clear up these rules for me :D
     
  2. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,269
    Likes Received:
    539
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    1. no second serve.
    2. no let when the shuttle touches the net. the rally continues after the shuttle touch the net
    3. after the server contacts the shuttle, the receiver can go anywhere.
     
  3. Tactim

    Tactim Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    8
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Nor Cal
    Kwun was a little general when talking about the net. Basically that means that if the server serves the shuttle and the shuttle hits the net cord but STILL lands in the service box, it's considered a legal serve even though the serve hit the net cord
     
  4. bridgeco11

    bridgeco11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    tiler
    Location:
    Essex
    Thanks for your help
     
  5. Naim.F.C

    Naim.F.C Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Designer | Entrepreneur
    Location:
    London
    Wow, and I always thought that was a let and that the server had to re-serve lol.
     
  6. Tactim

    Tactim Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    8
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Nor Cal
    Guess we all learn something new every day =p. It's different compared to tennis because if the serve hits the net cord but lands in the service box, they reserve their 1st or 2nd serve.
     
  7. Rndzz

    Rndzz Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Administrative Manager
    Location:
    philippines
    Ey guys. kindly clarify for me...

    Serving... the intended or the legal court place for a service... for singles and for doubles...
    when i play there im very confused to where are the legal place should the shuttle drops...

    pls help
     
  8. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    why not make your own thread?

    short and wide for doubles, thin and long for singles
     
  9. 2wheels04

    2wheels04 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cal Central
    Briefly, only one per point for that team. There is no second serve in badminton under the point-a-rally system.
    {If you are playing clulb rules under old 15-point system, then in doubles, when you loose your serve, your team mate will continue serving as second server.}

    The server must serve the shuttle to the diagonally opposite quadrant (the long thin one for singles, and the shorter broad one in doubles).

    The receiver must be in the opposite quadrant.

    Server serves from adjacent quadrant when rally is won by him/her or his/her team.

    When server loses rally, service is over, and the receiver now becomes the server.

    Service continues for server, as long as points are won by server.

    In regard to shuttle touching the net on service, will this shuttle go into the receiver's court? If yes, then good serve. You may count yourself an advanced player if you continue serving like this. And let me know, I will come and take lessons from you, really. I can only skip the shuttle off the net cord perhpas once in about seventeen hundred services.

    Yes. Once the shuttle crosses the net on your side, you may do whatever you want to end that rally, including smashing the shot into the opponent's court. Just make sure you do not touch net before the shuttle lands on court.

    No, you need not stay in your box (unless you have exceptionally long hands and legs).
     

Share This Page