Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Setting and resetting the service position

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Hoops, Apr 14, 2009.

  1. Hoops

    Hoops New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Coach
    Location:
    Fresno
    If a server comes set and does not move his or her racquet forward to initiate a serve, may the server reset his or her service position as long as the other team has been given sufficient time to also reset? (like a pitcher coming to a set position and then stepping off the mound)
     
  2. krisss

    krisss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ? ?The Moon? ?
    Yep , this is in compliance within the rules :D
     
  3. Hoops

    Hoops New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Coach
    Location:
    Fresno
    kriss, may I ask of your credentials so that I might quote you to other coaches that have questions about this issue?
     
  4. hellopanda3

    hellopanda3 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    TRAIN!
    Location:
    USA
    I agree.
    Hoops, just watch badminton videos. It's been done and is legal.
     
  5. krisss

    krisss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ? ?The Moon? ?
    Well I represent my county.

    Being coached by a former international doubles player , and a international singles players.

    I havn't got any official credentials - but I am going to start my coaching courses soon :D.

    As HelloPanda3 said - if you international games you can see players doing this , and the umpire is warning them - because they are in compliance with the rules. :D
     
  6. hellopanda3

    hellopanda3 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    TRAIN!
    Location:
    USA
    Do you mean "... and the umpire is NOT warning them"
    I was just confused.
    But I'm pretty sure that's what you meant. :D
     
  7. krisss

    krisss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ? ?The Moon? ?
    Lol yeah :D.

    I think I may look crazy saying that lol.

    I can't edit it now its been 15 minutes :D
     
  8. TheBear

    TheBear Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    9.2 Once the players are ready for the service, the first forward movement of the server’s racket

    head shall be the start of the service.
    From The Laws of Badminton downloadable from Badminton England website.
    Hope that helps

    (If it helps with your coaching friends, I'm a Junior County coach, BE Level 2, working alongside a national coach and ex-international players)
     
    #8 TheBear, Apr 14, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2009
  9. krisss

    krisss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ? ?The Moon? ?
    mmm The Bear , could you ask the national coach what they write down in international games please?
     
  10. TheBear

    TheBear Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    LOL....I saw that thread also !

    I asked him and the players that I am lucky enough to chat to, and they are all remarkably coy about telling me ! I'm told that the advice depends on the player receiving it, what they want etc..
    I struggle to know what to say to my folk at the break - any suggestions?
     
  11. Hoops

    Hoops New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Coach
    Location:
    Fresno
    I just wanted to thank TeBear and Kriss for your advice. Is there a badminton official that has run across this situation during a match. Is a reset OK?
     
  12. Hoops

    Hoops New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Coach
    Location:
    Fresno
    I've now heard from players, and I am very thankful for their advice, but I'd now like an official or a coach to answer this question:

    If a server comes set and does not move his or her racquet forward to initiate a serve, may the server reset his or her service position as long as the other team has been given sufficient time to also reset? (like a pitcher coming to a set position and then stepping off the mound)
     
  13. hhwoot

    hhwoot Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Graduate Student
    Location:
    Urbana, IL
    In your opening post, you said "If a server comes set and does not move his or her racquet forward to initiate a serve". Moving the racket forward is the definition given in 9.2 from TheBear's post for "start of the service".

    But if we look at 9.1.1:

    9.1.1 neither side shall cause undue delay to the delivery of the service once the server and the receiver are ready for the service. On completion of the backward movement of server’s racket head, any delay in the start of the service (Law 9.2), shall be considered to be an undue delay;

    The rules mean that moving the racket back and then forward to hit the shuttle must be in one complete motion. Any delay in between moving the racket back and then forward counts as undue delay.

    What we see in international competition are players reset when they have not started the back swing.
     
  14. TheBear

    TheBear Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Absolutely right hhwoot.(not that you need me to tell you!)
     
  15. Hoops

    Hoops New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Coach
    Location:
    Fresno
    So if a player is in a service set position and has neither moved his/her racquet forward or back, the player may reset his/her service position?
     
  16. TheBear

    TheBear Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    If you wish to stop the serve, you can do so without fault if you have not initiated the serve by moving your racquet in a manner that may be so construed.
    Or put it another way, yes.
    Personally if I did this I'd apologise immediately.
     
  17. Hoops

    Hoops New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Coach
    Location:
    Fresno
    hhwoot and TheBear, are either of you officials or coaches? I appreciate your comments and would like to quote them. It would help a lot if I knew your qualifications. Thanks again.
     
  18. TheBear

    TheBear Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    as per my reply at the top
    Hey, if you pay my airfare I'll tell them myself !!
     
  19. Hoops

    Hoops New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Coach
    Location:
    Fresno
    TheBear, if I had the money, you'd be in California right now. Unfortunately, they don't pay high school badminton coaches quite that much. So we'll have to continue our conversations long distance. But thanks for the offer!
     
  20. TheBear

    TheBear Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    :):):):)
    It would be my pleasure
     

Share This Page