Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Shaking the racket before serving

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Tactim, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Service: The first forward movement is to hit the shuttlecock

    .
    Yes, you are correct. It is the one forward movement which is important.

    Most server hold the racket head IN FRONT of the shuttlecock initially. Therefore, he/she will need to move the racket head with a little back swing before the forward movement can be done.

    It is the first forward movement that the receiver expects the shuttlecock to be hit (at Service).

    As we all know that during a rally, it is good to do double/multiple swings (to deceive or to wrong foot our opponent). The Laws of Badminton allow us to do so during a rally.

    It is only at Service that the Laws do not permit us to do the double/multiple action.
    .
     
    #21 chris-ccc, Feb 23, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2011
  2. Matt

    Matt Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    4,079
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    IT Developer
    Location:
    Richmond, BC
    I still like LD's call for double action but in the video, when he actually did a tripple. In the replay, you see him doing what appears to be double action, but the reply did not show the initial forward movement which actually made it tripple.
     
  3. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,495
    Likes Received:
    257
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Just watched some older videos, like Setiawan, looks like Gao Lin also used to serve with a double action every single time...

    Heh, so it seems that the service judges interpret the law as double action being ok, but they draw the line at triple action!;) :D
     
  4. Matt

    Matt Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    4,079
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    IT Developer
    Location:
    Richmond, BC
    Lol yeah. Mean tripple was too much lol! Cuz in the replay, you see Peter actually moved on the second action when LD pulled back for the third action. Fault!!!
     
  5. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    It seems that the service judges interpret the law as double action being OK

    .
    Then, the judges/umpires were wrong. :(:(:(

    The Laws of Badminton clearly state the first forward movement towards the shuttlecock (at Service) cannot be pulled backward again. If the server needs to pull back his/her swing again, then the receiver can raise his/her hand to say "Let's halt; because confusion has been created by the server's double action (if the judges did not call it a 'Fault')".
    .
     
    #25 chris-ccc, Feb 23, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011
  6. george@chongwei

    george@chongwei Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    30,013
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    MIA
    I have a video of Jonas rasmussen serving. the problem is when he serve, he will move his hand. Took that video during Mas Open 2011 sf vs japanese pair. was seating the 1st row:cool:.. quite unique.. not sure why the umpire didn't call it a fault!
    im currently uploading now.
     
  7. george@chongwei

    george@chongwei Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    30,013
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    MIA
    here is the one im talking about.. what u guys think? look carefully on the 14th second..

    [video=youtube;0UzWghFSJHY]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UzWghFSJHY[/video]
     
  8. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Something wrong with JR's service?

    .
    From what I see, there was nothing wrong with JR's service (at the 14th second). You mentioned about his moving hand; Which hand are you referring to?
    .
     
  9. george@chongwei

    george@chongwei Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    30,013
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    MIA
    Not sure whether it was the moving hand problem or what.. but it seems like that serve he fake once 1st, then only he serve.. u can see sato was already ready to move..
     
  10. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Sato was ready to move forward to anticipate a low service

    .
    I watched your video about 10 times trying to find out if there was anything wrong in JR's Service, but I just could not find anything illegal.

    Sato was ready to move forward (to anticipate a low service) which was not intended by JR.

    Actually, JR was looking at the shuttlecock all the time (not paying any attention to Sato's anticipation at all).
    .
     
    #30 chris-ccc, Feb 24, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011
  11. george@chongwei

    george@chongwei Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    30,013
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    MIA
    Perhaps JR serving is quite unique;) at least to me
     

Share This Page