Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Shuttle cork head came off

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Qidong, Jun 10, 2008.

  1. Qidong

    Qidong Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Waiting to be out-sourced
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Yesterday in a game, the other side smashed and the shuttle head came off and went out to nowhere, but the feather flew in front of me, and I tried to hit it back and it hit the net because the feathers are too soft. So my question is who won the point. If we count the shuttle head, it's out. If we count the feather, it's in. Just cursious. We ended up replaying the point.
     
  2. Loh

    Loh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,594
    Likes Received:
    299
    Occupation:
    Stock Broker
    Location:
    Singapore Also Can
    This is the answer:


    Law 14.2.4

    It shall be a 'let', if:

    During play, the shuttle disintegrates and the base completely separates from the rest of the shuttle.
    :eek::cool::D

    So you guys made the right decision.
     
  3. LazyBuddy

    LazyBuddy Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    10,243
    Likes Received:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    New York, US
    The law only states when the base in "completely off". What about during a smash the base is half way off, therefore, the shuttle flies in a very strange pattern, which result in 1 side "win or lose" a rally? Will that count as a let? Or, tough luck? :rolleyes:
     
  4. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,208
    Likes Received:
    278
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    that's tough luck. if the shuttle is broken in such a way that the flight pattern is irregular, that's not any different than a feather breaking off.

    the players should've asked for a replacement before the rally, or should've used better quality shuttles to begin with.. ;)
     
  5. Qidong

    Qidong Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Waiting to be out-sourced
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Thanks for all the answers. :)
     
  6. cooler

    cooler Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    22,050
    Likes Received:
    12
    Occupation:
    Surfing, reading fan mails:D, Dilithium Crystal hu
    Location:
    Basement Boiler Room
    should it also be a law for:


    During play, the racket disintegrates and the frame completely separates from racket handle.


    Panda would surely welcome addition of this new law:eek::cool::D
     
  7. jerby

    jerby Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,040
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    EU
    switching rackets during a rally is a lot easier than switching shuttles ;):D

    with feather shuttles, I only had it happen once...
    That smash sure felt weird, and the birdy had dissapeared:eek: (the cork was found 2 courts down, the feathers lay behind me)

    With plastics, it's a bit more common...
     
  8. Qidong

    Qidong Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Waiting to be out-sourced
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    I did see that happen before in a XD game. Xie Zhongbo's racquet head fell off, and they lost that point. There was no let. :) Did the referree make a mistake?
     
  9. Loh

    Loh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,594
    Likes Received:
    299
    Occupation:
    Stock Broker
    Location:
    Singapore Also Can
    Sorry my friend, unless at the same time, miraculously the shuttle flew over your opponents' side and they can't retrieve it.

    It's something like crashing your racket against your partner's but the bird still went over with NO response from your opponents, although both your rackets had bent double! :D
     

Share This Page