Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

shuttle deflects off post and into play

Discussion in 'Shuttlecock' started by Sum, May 22, 2001.

  1. Sum

    Sum Guest

    In or out

    The shuttle hit the top of the pole and landed on the floor, inside the line. Is this in or out ?
     
  2. Byro-Nenium

    Byro-Nenium Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Undergrad
    Location:
    Singapore
    Re: In or out

    ITs out
     
  3. david

    david Guest

    Re: In or out

    It's IN
     
  4. Byro-Nenium

    Byro-Nenium Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Undergrad
    Location:
    Singapore
    Sorry!

    Top of the pole! Sorry i didn't realise that i was speed reading, i'm not sure but according to david its in....
     
  5. Sum

    Sum Guest

    Re: Sorry!

    I desperately need the firmed answer.
     
  6. Normand

    Normand Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Re: In or out

    If the pole is properly located (on the doubles side lines) then the shot is in.
     
  7. Sum

    Sum Guest

    Re: In or out

    Thanh a bunch, it sounds sensible.
     
  8. Sum

    Sum Guest

    Re: In or out

    Thank a bunch, it sounds sensible.
     
  9. Jeff

    Jeff Guest

    Re: In or out

    woudlnt it be considered a let?
     
  10. Zclyh3

    Zclyh3 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Not employed during academic school yeah
    Location:
    San Leandro/San Jose, CA
    Re: In or out

    Yeah, it should be a let. Cause it's not suppose to hit the poles.
     
  11. Mike

    Mike Guest

    Re: In or out

    It is not a let. It is IN.
    Go to IBF and check it out. Only if it is caught at the net that it's considered a let.
     
  12. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,280
    Likes Received:
    549
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    Re: In or out

    it is in. as long as it is not hitting the inside of the pole. there is no rule saying that it should be counted as out.

    and i believe if the shuttle were to go around the side of the pole, touching it or not, and then comes back into the court, that's counted in as well.
     
  13. cooler

    cooler Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    22,016
    Likes Received:
    13
    Occupation:
    Surfing, reading fan mails:D, Dilithium Crystal hu
    Location:
    Basement Boiler Room
    Re: In or out

    During one tournament i had a chance to chat (more like interrogation) with the head unmpire that was on a break. I drilled him many many questions that were not in the book, or not descriptive enough in the book and other weird situation that i can dream of. You know me ;) Well, to make a long story short....in Sum's case, it's OUT.
     
  14. Sum

    Sum Guest

    Re: In or out

    Ahha, so the pole is not considered as a part of the game, right.
    That is my initial reaction to this situation, but my opponent insisted that the shuttle hit the line, rather than the pole.
     
  15. david

    david Guest

    It's IN

    Even if the shuttle were to fly around the building or maybe around the world (if it is possible) and then finally touches inside the line, it is still considered IN.

    as long as it does not touch any of the player.

    FINAL ANSWER : IT'S IN
     
  16. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,280
    Likes Received:
    549
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    Re: In or out

    i tend to agree with david, but if using this umpire's judgement, the only rule that i can see apply is this:

    it is a fault if the shuttle:

    13.2.6 touches any other object or person outside the immediate surroundings of the court;

    so in other words, the pole is outside the immediate surroundings of the court. which is a believeable interpretation, but quite <i>borderline</i> IMHO. :)
     
  17. Sum

    Sum Guest

    Re: It's IN

    I agree with your case. But in this case, the shuttle hit the top. If it did not have the top there, the shuttle could be out.
     
  18. cooler

    cooler Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    22,016
    Likes Received:
    13
    Occupation:
    Surfing, reading fan mails:D, Dilithium Crystal hu
    Location:
    Basement Boiler Room
    Re: In or out

    since Sum had asked whether 'in or out', i gave you guys the 'out' answer. In reality, the umpire would call it fault, as rationalized by kwun. But i don't know how kwun rationalize david's interpretation?
     
  19. marshall

    marshall Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Computer Security Manager
    Location:
    Louisiana, US
    Re: In or out

    According to the rule Kwun cited, to be out the shuttle has to strike an object *outside* the immediate surroundings of the court. If the poles are on the doubles lines (and the game is doubles), then it is reasonable to say the poles are not outside the immediate surroundings of the court. On this interpretation striking the top of the pole would be no worse than striking the net cord.
     
  20. Brett

    Brett Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: In or out

    I have never seen this situation happen in the past year and a half. The several times I can recall a shuttle hitting the post it either bounce out or backwards, definitely not over and in the other court. Just curious here, but how often have any of you encountered this situation with the bird hitting the post and going in?

    It seems that the inside-outside of the post sub-argument has a pretty easy answer. If the shuttle hits the outside (i.e. side away from the court) of the post with sufficient power to be noticed, it seems like basic physics would require the shuttle to rebound or deflect from the post, thereby going out of the court.
     

Share This Page