Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Shuttle dies during a rally

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Capnx, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. Capnx

    Capnx Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    This will probably never/rarely happen in international tournaments, but for regional or club tournaments that are actually officiated, usually the shuttle change happens less often. So what if you asked the umpire to change the shuttle and he/she turned you down, and on the following rally a feather breaks off and the shuttle drastically slows down or starts spinning mid-rally? Would that be a let and replay the point or just keep playing the point until someone wins it?
     
  2. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,280
    Likes Received:
    549
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    the only related rule is this. but this doesn't apply here.

    since no other rules applies, the rally continues.
     
  3. LD rules!

    LD rules! Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Earth
    This has happened to me before. Unfortunately when it happened was 20-19 down in the 3rd game of our doubles league match.:(:crying::mad:

    We had been forced into lifting and were defending some smashes, the shuttle was fairly new, maybe 6-7 rallies old. I played a really high defensive lift, and our opponent smashed, quite hard, but it was easy to deal with, but then one of the feathers broke outwards, pretty much stopping the shuttle dead and leaving me swinging at nothing as the shuttle went from being a decent smash to stopping before reaching my racket.

    I was so angry, we had lost a match that we had been in control of the whole way through and had held match points in game 2. To lose it in such a manor when I would have returned the smash and hopefully won the rally and the match.

    No let nothing, match lost.:(
     
  4. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    United States
    The rally continues unless, stated by kwun, the cork separates from the rest of the shuttle. Then, you can ask again for a change of shuttle.
     
  5. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    If you were in control the whole way through, then what were you doing 19-20 down in a third game?

    Yes, it's frustrating when a rally is spoiled by a bad shuttle, same as it's frustrating when there's a bad line call or a lucky net cord for the other side. But it's only one point out of, what, maybe 100 rallies in a close three game match? If you'd done better in those other points, then you wouldn't have been in that situation.
     
  6. LD rules!

    LD rules! Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Earth
    Well we were 15-10 up or something like that and I think 20-18 up in the second game, we lost cause we made too many easy mistakes at the wrong time, and allowed them to get too close.

    Thing is, to lose it on a net cord then I would accept that as at least it was legitimate. Losing a rally particularly at a crucial stage by the shuttle breaking is frustrating to say the least...
     

Share This Page