Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Shuttle falling on the line while serving

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Rajeshgsb, Oct 13, 2010.

  1. Rajeshgsb

    Rajeshgsb Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Software Professional
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Dear All,
    When I serve the shuttle to the opponent, if the shuttle falls exactly on the line (any of the lines) who will gain the point ? Me or my opponent ?

    Regards,
    Rajesh
     
  2. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,529
    Likes Received:
    267
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    If the shuttle touches any of the lines, that is considered to be "in" court.
    Whether in service or rally.
     
  3. Loh

    Loh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,797
    Likes Received:
    332
    Occupation:
    Stock Broker
    Location:
    Singapore Also Can
    But not any other line except the service line.
     
  4. Sgbad

    Sgbad Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    bumming around
    Location:
    Singapore
    :p good one loh
     
  5. Rajeshgsb

    Rajeshgsb Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Software Professional
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Meaning that the shuttle cannot fall on any other line than the service line during a serve. is it ?
     
  6. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    If the shuttle lands on the line then it counts as being in. But you have to use a bit of common sense. For instance, if you're serving, then it has to land inside the service area, or on one of the lines around that area. If you're supposed to be serving to the right hand side and the shuttle lands on the left hand side line or on one of the lines on your own side, then of course it's a fault.
     
  7. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,529
    Likes Received:
    267
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Now see what you've done Loh, you've gone and confused the OP.
     
  8. Loh

    Loh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,797
    Likes Received:
    332
    Occupation:
    Stock Broker
    Location:
    Singapore Also Can
    Hahaha, I'm sorry. I assume that he is playing on the singles court and that he knows some basic rules on serving.
     
  9. vipjun

    vipjun Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    the line is still considered part of the court area, so its in.
     
  10. Blitzzards

    Blitzzards Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    GMT-04:00
    Right in the centre

    What about the line, directly in the centre? I have sometimes hit it and the people at my club have ALWAYS considered it as out, although from watching international double matches I notice that the serving players will usually aim directly for the centre line (especially Fu Haifeng's "index finger, number 1" serve if you can catch it on closeup sometimes) as one of their game plan :confused:
     
    #10 Blitzzards, Oct 16, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2010
  11. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,256
    Likes Received:
    539
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    touching the center line is IN.
     
  12. Loh

    Loh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,797
    Likes Received:
    332
    Occupation:
    Stock Broker
    Location:
    Singapore Also Can
    Also touching the boundary or tramline within the service court is IN.
     
  13. george@chongwei

    george@chongwei Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    30,005
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    MIA
    It will be called IN..:)
    and u get the point.
     
  14. Loh

    Loh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,797
    Likes Received:
    332
    Occupation:
    Stock Broker
    Location:
    Singapore Also Can
    Why you called so late umpire!
     
  15. 2wheels04

    2wheels04 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cal Central
    shuttle on the line of receiver's court is in

    Lines are part of the court, see Law 1.3 (http://bit.ly/dMYAWZ, also given below)

    1.3 All the lines shall form part of the area which they define.

    In singles, the receiver court is diagonally opposite the server, and is bound by the following four lines:
    • the short service line from the centre to the inside tramline,
    • the centre line from the centre to the baseline,
    • the baseline from the centre to the inside tramline, and
    • the inside tram-line from the short service line to the baseline.

    In doubles, the lines are:
    • the short service line from the centre to the outside tramline (full width of that half-court),
    • the centre line from the centre to the inside baseline (long service line),
    • the inside baseline from the centre to the outside tramline,
    • the outside tramline from the short service line to the long service line.

    Also see the court schematic on page 5 for more details.

    Shuttle landing within these boundaries, including the lines, will be in.
     

Share This Page