Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

shuttle falls on receiver

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by rkmenon97, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. rkmenon97

    rkmenon97 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Govt. Servant
    Location:
    india
    hi all,

    what is the rule for the incident when the shuttle falls on the receivers body when he is out of the court?

    regards
    Radhakrishnan
     
  2. abedeng

    abedeng Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    18,692
    Likes Received:
    115
    Occupation:
    Occupying Tall Buildings
    Location:
    In Competition
    It is a point to the server.

    The shuttle is considered "in play" until one of the following occurs:

    1. it falls to the floor (whether in or out of court doesn't matter)
    2. it hits an opponent's body (which is considered a fault)
    3. it hits the net and is deflected back towards the hitter's side of the court
     
  3. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Anytime the shuttle hits a player, regardless of whether he's in bounds or not, it's a fault for the player that got hit.
     
  4. hhwoot

    hhwoot Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Graduate Student
    Location:
    Urbana, IL
    Only when the shuttle is "in play". Read law 15 for when a shuttle is not in play, read laws 13 and 14 for when to call fault and let, respectively.
     
  5. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I would have thought that was obvious. If it's not in play then you can't have a fault can you?
     
  6. hhwoot

    hhwoot Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Graduate Student
    Location:
    Urbana, IL
    First, it is not so obvious that inprecise wording can be used. Second, it is definitely possible to be faulted when the shuttle is not in play.

    Law 13: It shall be a fault;
    (13.5) if a player is guilty of flagrant, repeated or persistent offenses under Law 16.
     
  7. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    What are you a lawyer? How does law 13 have anything to do with what we're discussing since it has nothing to do with a shuttle hitting a player.

    Let me be more precise then, it cannot be a fault if the shuttle is not in play in the scenario put forth by the original poster...
     
  8. Wilson Shuttler

    Wilson Shuttler Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    n/a
    Location:
    n/a
    the straightforward answer is aslong as it hits any player on the court, its the oppositions point. ( i know, sucks eh) i remember the time i was playing in a tournament and the guy served while i was tying my shoe lace and it hit me on the head =__=
     
  9. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Sorry meant 13.5 specifically

    Now that should have been a let. It is not a fault on a serve if the person returning serve is not ready and makes no effort to return the serve.

    9.4 The server shall not serve before the receiver is ready. However, the receiver shall be considered to have been ready if a return of the service is attempted.

    14.2 It shall be a ‘let”, if:
    14.2.1 the server serves before the receiver is ready (Law 9.4);
     
    #9 druss, Nov 11, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2009
  10. hhwoot

    hhwoot Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Graduate Student
    Location:
    Urbana, IL
    I don't need to be a lawyer to understand the laws of badminton and to know that imprecise language causes confusion and loopholes.

    Law 13.5 will apply if after every point when the shuttle is no longer "in play", a player purposely use the shuttle to hit his opponent. He will be faulted for misconduct and his opponent will not be.
     
  11. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    First... I've never seen anyone intentionally hit another player with a shuttle after the shuttle was no longer in play. Second, it STILL HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE ORIGINAL QUESTION!

    You're causing confusion to the original poster by bringing up situations that has nothing to do with his particular question!
     
  12. llpjlau

    llpjlau Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Where else?
    druss is half right. it would be obvious to any player who is familiar enough with the rules of the game.

    hhwoot is also half right. it would not be so obvious to any player who is not familiar enough with the rules of the game.

    but anyway, get back on topic please.
     
  13. red_dragon

    red_dragon Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    once shuttle hits floor or person or roof (in-house rule) then the rally ends.

    even if it flies out of court and hits the receiver/s then it is a fault to the one that got hit and oppostion gets point. even if it flies out and the receiver attempts to hit but does not get over the net (if goes over, play continues until of of the above ends the rally).

    and yes, if the receiver is not ready, then the service is retaken and a 'let' is played....
     
  14. rkmenon97

    rkmenon97 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Govt. Servant
    Location:
    india
    Actually, what happened was the receiver ran to take the strike, he didnt get the strike and the shuttle fell on his body at that time he was out of the court.
     

Share This Page