Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Shuttle hitting top of post, then drop into court... is this legal?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by ZeroSOFInfinity, Feb 2, 2013.

  1. ZeroSOFInfinity

    ZeroSOFInfinity Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    During a doubles match today, my opponent attempted a net drop and the shuttle hit the top part of the net post. It then "rolled" on the net cord for a very brief moment and dropped straight down in my side of the court.We discussed amongst ourselves whether it was a legal shot and decided it was, even though we werent even sure about it. Can anyone confirm this?
     
  2. DannyYan

    DannyYan Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Human
    Location:
    Citizen of the world
    it is..lo as long as the shuttle drops on the ground
     
  3. kvyra

    kvyra Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    singapore
    It is illegal. Same thing happened to me within the last month and I checked the bwf handbook. There is a specific rule pertaining to this, can't remember exactly what's the rule number though.
     
  4. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,674
    Likes Received:
    297
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY
    A shuttle is not in play when:
    15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker's side of the net;
    15.2 it hits the surface of the court; or 15.3 a "fault" or a "let" has occurred.

    Yes it's a point for your opponent.
     
  5. krysser

    krysser Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    @Home
    The post is considered a part of the net, and as long as the shuttle passes over the net (post) it is a legal shot.

    /Krysser
     
  6. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    United States
    Actually, it depends. It gets into a judgement sense of where on the post it hit.

    By regulation, the post is supposed to be 5' 1" where the net goes over the pole so that there is no room for it to really hit the side of the pole and go in.

    When the pole is higher than 5' 1" and it hits the top part, it is up to the referee's decision, but should be played as a fault.
     
  7. milton

    milton Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Sussex
    I dont think so as the shuttle is falling on the opponents side of the court not the strikers. This happened to me once in a match on a match point. I was being extra cautious so hit a smash although i think the shuttle was outside the court. It then hit the top of the post which changed the direction of the shuttle into an undefendable cross court netshot. Our opponents made us play a let but we still won anyway.
     
  8. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    The shot is legal.
     
  9. Shinichi

    Shinichi Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Teacher
    Location:
    Brunei Darussalam
    It happen before and the shot is legal
     

Share This Page