Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Shuttle stuck at net on the other side of net.

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by scann, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. scann

    scann Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT - Software
    Location:
    Cheras,KL
    Recently played a friendly at Kajang, Malaysia. My team mates were playing 2nd double.

    The following snapshots are from the video clip.

    I think the 'amateur' umpire had made a right decision. It is a let.

    Enjoy.

    the video clip http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lGrEnUobE0I
     

    Attached Files:

  2. george@chongwei

    george@chongwei Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    30,013
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    MIA
    hey that was sungai chua primary school badminton hall...
    i think they had done some renovation..
    once played b4 there...:):D:p
     
  3. scann

    scann Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT - Software
    Location:
    Cheras,KL
    We are guests, so no comment on courts.

    But one particular old fashion rule is that all players must wear 'White' T-shirt when playing at this hall.

    Don't worry, there is a small mobile sport shop selling 'White' T-shirt in case you didn't bring.
     
  4. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    yup the right choice was made to play a let, cause the opposing team did not have the chance to strike ths shuttle but the shuttle got stuck on their side of the net from a shot their opponents played so yeah right choice. Havnt seen that happening lots though only a handful of times if even.
     
  5. Sgbad

    Sgbad Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    bumming around
    Location:
    Singapore
    May i know whats the reason behind that tradition of wearing white shirts?
     
  6. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Shuttle is stuck at the net on the other side of net

    .
    Hi scann,

    Based on how you have phrased the title of this thread, "stuck at net on the other side of net", it is assumed that you know the correct answer. :):):)

    The umpire did follow the Laws of Badminton;
    14.2.3.2 : It shall be a let, if the shuttle is after passing over the net is caught in the net.

    Even though it is written in the book of Laws, I have never seen it happened before, even though I have heard of it before.

    So, thank you for sharing the video. :):):)

    Cheers... chris@ccc
    .
     
  7. malayali

    malayali Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    namaskaaram..
    Location:
    Dallas,TX. (From India)
    Thanks for sharing that video, never seen it before, truly bizarre!!!!!
     
  8. xt6666

    xt6666 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Badminton Idol
    Location:
    Badminton Court
    I managed to do this twice yet... Always when doing a spinning net shot...
     
  9. treilanin

    treilanin Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It has happened to me once on a clear at the net. Hit the top the net spun over and the net caught on the rebound. Definitely a let for sure.
     
  10. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,269
    Likes Received:
    535
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
  11. DivingBirdie

    DivingBirdie Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Singapore
    i've never managed to do anything like that before...how sad...especially from a drop too...freaky:p

    sounds collusive:cool:
     
  12. Loh

    Loh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,794
    Likes Received:
    331
    Occupation:
    Stock Broker
    Location:
    Singapore Also Can
    It is a FAULT if ...

    Depending on when the shuttle is left hanging on the other side of the net because if it is a result of SERVICE ...

    Law 13 FAULTS

    It shall be a 'fault':

    13.2 if, in service, the shuttle:

    13.2.1 is caught on the net and remains suspended on its top;
    13.2.2 after passing over the net, is caught in the net;

    Also a fault to the server if 'in play', the shuttle:

    13.3.2 passes through (must be a big hole) or under the net.

    :cool:
     
  13. scann

    scann Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT - Software
    Location:
    Cheras,KL
    Thanks for the word. I looked up Dictionary from Winword. This is want I found..

    "secretly cooperating or involving secret cooperation in order to do something illegal or underhanded."

    Yes it sounds collusive. I was told that the property owner related to the shop owner. So they have every right to be collusive.

    If you have a chance to play in Kajang. Remember to bring extra white T-shirts to avoid confrontation and disappointment. Who knows you might play at this hall one day.
     
  14. elite N00b

    elite N00b Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Hmmm...

    I was told by an umpire and a few other ppl that its the 'hitter's' point if this happens. Even if the shuttle dropped it would be near impossible to return it.
     
  15. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    Well, you should be cautious about what you trust from that "umpire" then. The laws are very clear on the matter, as you can see from post 12 above. An umpire who can't understand the laws is as much use as a chocolate teapot.
     
  16. extremenanopowe

    extremenanopowe Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    12,272
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Chief Coach. Get only NCAP/NROC certified coach. C
    Location:
    SG. Go for NCAP-L2 certified coach.
    Must be a glue somewhere along the tape... hehe...

    Correct to be let. However, how long do you wait till before making a call? What happens if the shuttle decides to drop? ha.....how?

    Wah, your fren hantam head (hunter) one is it? Nice game and court. Wimbledon style is it?
     
  17. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Need a strong wind to blow the falling shuttle past the receiver's Service Line

    .
    Hahaha extremenanopower, You are not thinking/visualising it clear enough. :):):)

    Even if the shuttlecock decides to drop from the net, it would drop just under the net. You would need a strong wind to blow the falling shuttle past the receiver's Service Line. :D:D:D
    .
     
  18. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    well i have had this happen to me before, my opponent would play a shot it hits the tape and gets stuck in the net but not stuck stuck just seems to be hanging there for 5 - 10 seconds and decides to fall before we call it a let so basically its tumbling down along the net so i had to wait till it fell below the bottom of the net and then play the best shot that i could play at the current time which was bsaically a cross court net shot which rolled over the net.

    To Chris@ ccc
    So it is possible for it to drop and for a shot to be played based off it but the shots you can play would be limited unless you can net roll it back or get a decent lift it is highly possible else you will be in trouble but its not impossible.
     
  19. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    We are now on the thread's topic

    .
    Hi smash_master,

    We are now on the thread's topic... I was distracted by Loh(post#12) and CWB001(post#15). :eek:

    They were talking about the service only.

    And I just assumed that extremenanopower was talking about the service too (as a continuation of those posts immediately before his). :eek::eek::eek:

    Post#1(by scann) and post#6(by me) were talking about "after the service is returned", and not "for the service".

    So what you have said about "it is possible for it to drop and for a shot to be played" is correct. :)
    .
     
    #19 chris-ccc, Jan 17, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2008
  20. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    The law does not state "caught permanently on the net", just "caught on the net". Therefore, my belief is that any catching on the net that causes a delay in the fall of the shuttle, and then a resumption of the fall, is a let. Certainly, if it is caught for several seconds it should be a let, even if it subsequently falls.
     

Share This Page