Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

shuttle through the net

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by danyjames, Dec 14, 2012.

  1. danyjames

    danyjames New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    unemployee
    Location:
    kerala
    In service, if the shuttle touches the top of the net and landed on the right court does it is fault?
     
  2. CanucksDynasty

    CanucksDynasty Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Working to pay for badminton stuff
    Location:
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    If it's through the net...fix the hole in the net. :p

    IF you are talking about the shuttle hitting the tape and falling into the service area...it counts. If it doesn't...then it's a fault.
     
  3. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,406
    Likes Received:
    225
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Yes...this is different from tennis where its a fault if it touches the net on serve.
     
  4. phili

    phili Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Germany
    As far as I know it's no fault, if the ball lands inside the servin zone after touching the net but the serve has to be replayed. If the ball lands outside after touching the net it is a fault.
     
  5. CanucksDynasty

    CanucksDynasty Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Working to pay for badminton stuff
    Location:
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Aw man...I am a noob :eek:.

    Fortunately, I never come across that situation before. Mainly cuz I can't get my serve that low to the tape. :(
     
  6. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,406
    Likes Received:
    225
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Crap...had a brain fart this morning. :( Both phili and CD are correct. In tennis its a re serve if it manages to land in. Whereas in badminton the rally continues if it manages to land in. Referring to serves touching the net that is.
     
  7. Cheung

    Cheung Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    16,147
    Likes Received:
    10
    Occupation:
    wannabe badminton phototaker
    Location:
    Outside the box
    i was under the impression in badminton, if it hits the net and lands in, it's a point to the server. Have the rules changed so that the rally can continue after the shuttle lands?
     
    #7 Cheung, Dec 14, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2012
  8. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,406
    Likes Received:
    225
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    You know what...I should just not post when I'm having the flu and under the influence of flu meds. :( Of course the rally is over in badminton once the shuttle hits the ground. :p
     

Share This Page