Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Singles low serve, shuttle touches white tape and lands in opponents service box.

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Dillon, Oct 24, 2011.

  1. Dillon

    Dillon Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KL, Ipoh
    Hi all

    In a singles game, I do a low backhand serve.

    The shuttle travels over the net, touches the white tape slightly, and lands inside the opponents service box.

    Is that considered my point ? I would think so.

    My opponent argues that during serve, it should not touch the white tape (in play it is allowed), but not during serve, and thus he did not take it and it landed in his service box.

    Please share with me your thoughts.

    I'm sorry if this has been discussed earlier, did not find the post.

    Thanks
     
  2. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,285
    Likes Received:
    552
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    it is your point as you think it is.

    unlike tennis, in badminton play continues when the shuttle strikes the white tape on service. afterall, it is the server's fault if it strikes the tape and didn't make the service court!
     
  3. Dillon

    Dillon Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KL, Ipoh
    Ah great ... Thanks Kwun for reply :)
     
  4. a|extan

    a|extan Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    singapore
    yr frd must b a player who applies tennis rules onto badminton court
     
  5. S.fusion

    S.fusion Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uk
    Tell him if it lands beyond the service line, thts 2 points. If it's short, u get the second service. Lol
     
  6. Dillon

    Dillon Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KL, Ipoh
    lol... dont think he will buy that :)
     

Share This Page