Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

slicing - someone set me straight plz :D

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by macca, Sep 12, 2006.

  1. macca

    macca Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southport (UK)
    can anyone clarify the legalities of slicing the shuttle for me please?

    The reason i ask, is simply because ive never really seen anyone do it at my club, and isnt it hitting the shuttle more than once if your racket hits the cork as well as raking down the feathers?

    (I may have my terms jumbled up, i mean like, if you are cleared to, and you "smash" the shuttle, but with a slightly tilted raquet so that the shot comes off as more of a slow drop shot)
     
  2. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    38,208
    Likes Received:
    278
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    hi, if you want to know if it is legal. yes, of course, as long as the shuttle is hit by the racket in one continuous stroke, and it passes the net and it lands in, it is legal.
     
  3. morewood

    morewood Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK, Derbys.
    Hitting the feathers on a serve is I believe frowned upon, but in normal play you can get an advantage (especially at the net) by using a sliced shot.
     
  4. Gollum

    Gollum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    The Laws permit you to hit the feathers on service, but you must first hit the base (cork).

    You may hit the cork only, or you may hit the cork and immediately afterwards hit the feathers. This is common in sliced wide low serves.

    You may not hit the feathers only, nor may you hit the feathers and cork together. This law was introduced to ban the deadly S-serve, which spun the shuttle chaotically.
     
  5. morewood

    morewood Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK, Derbys.
    There speaks a man who has read the rule book…….

    My understanding stems from what usually happens in a league game should there be an umpire, at least 50% of the time if you strike the feathers sufficiently to make the shuttle tumble the umpire calls a foul serve.
     
  6. Gollum

    Gollum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Yes, this is likely. Many serves that cause the shuttle to tumble are foul serves.

    Note, however, that it is possible to make the shuttle tumble using a slice from left to right, which very obviously never touches the feathers. This is not a good serve, however, because it tends to pop up and flick serves are difficult.

    By the way, please don't use the text formatting options in these forums just to choose a font that you like. The default font (and size, and weight) is there for a reason. Font effects may be used (sparingly) for emphasis.
     
  7. morewood

    morewood Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK, Derbys.
    Sorry will have to stop cut and pasting then.
     
  8. CWB001

    CWB001 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    This is no longer (since May 2006) quite true, for two reasons.

    Firstly, accidental double hits are now illegal (even if one continuous stroke) unless the shuttle hits both the racquet head and the strings in that stroke.

    The relevant law is:

    "It is a fault if ...

    13.3.8 is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a ‘fault’; "

    The purpose of this seems merely to avoid argument over whether a frame shot (which is perfectly legal) is a double hit (which many are).

    This does not outlaw a slice, however, because a slice does not depend on a double hit.

    Secondly the shuttle must now pass over the net, and not merely pass the net. This is because of this law:

    "It shall be a 'fault' ... if in play, the shuttle ...

    13.3.3 fails to pass over the net; "

    I guess they changed this to get around the silly situation we have discussed previously where a player may be able to hit a shuttle around the net but lower than the net cord.
     
  9. DivingBirdie

    DivingBirdie Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Singapore
    do we actually hit the feathers while slicing? i don't think i do. or maybe i did it without realising?
     
  10. morewood

    morewood Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK, Derbys.
    You probably do, I know when I slice I get the feathers quite a lot.
     
  11. Gollum

    Gollum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    I don't understand :confused: From what are you copying?

    Yes, if you want the most extreme slices. For less dramatic slices, you can just slap the cork with an angled racket face; but for vicious, swerving dropshots, you need to brush around the cork and feathers together.
     
  12. morewood

    morewood Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK, Derbys.
    Microsoft Word, its stange that it keeps the formating I know......
     
  13. Gollum

    Gollum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    So you actually type your posts, even the very short ones, in Microsoft Word first, before copying them into the edit box? :eek:

    Why not just type them into the edit box?

    Perhaps this explains why quite a few posters use Times New Roman. I thought they were messing with the fonts, but maybe they are typing in a word processor!

    If you are worried about losing a long post, then you can copy-paste it into Notepad or a similar text editor (note that text editors are not the same as word processors). I do this quite often; but make sure "Word wrap" is off, otherwise you can get lots of added line breaks :rolleyes:
     
  14. morewood

    morewood Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK, Derbys.
    Probably does explain it. Its force of habit I'm afraid, using this and other forums I have always just cut and pasted replies, normally (on other forums) formating isnt carried across though.
     
  15. fast3r

    fast3r Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    I don't understand, what's wrong with using Times New Roman?
     
  16. morewood

    morewood Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK, Derbys.
    I tried that last night, (in the kitchen), I think with a bit of practice time in front of the net I may have a very deceptive backhand serve where I can send a spinner to the front or crash a long serve to the backhand court. Early days yet but it wont half confuse people if I start alternating serving backhand and forehand.
     
  17. Gollum

    Gollum Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    If you're interested in experimenting with sliced serves and spinning serves, you may like this thread:
    http://www.badmintonforum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=35944
     
  18. macca

    macca Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southport (UK)
    thankyou very much to everyone that has replied to this thread :)

    you have been most helpful :)
     
  19. morewood

    morewood Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK, Derbys.
    Well I had a practice this week before other members turned up and I was hitting 3 corners consistently. So I gave it a bit of a go in the first couple of games, the idea being that if I mixed up my serve then its far more dificult to read. First game was a white wash as each "new" serve was either left or miss read so I had a hefty advantage before dealing with any returns. The second game was a bit closer, but I still forced some fairly poor returns of serve from my opponents, its definatley something to take further.:)
     
  20. cappy75

    cappy75 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    3,509
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Depot Support Representative
    Location:
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    It's hard on the eyes with the fonts being so compressed. Best to keep to default fonts.

     

Share This Page