Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

standing on the same side of the court in doubles

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Manu Varghese, Mar 19, 2013.

  1. Manu Varghese

    Manu Varghese New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    is standing on the same side of the court in doubles legal? (while serving and recievin). today while i was playin my opponent server to my partner (he was on the left side of the court) n my more thean half of the body part was on his side. The moment the opponent served he started yelling tht it was fault. was it illegal on my part to stand on my partner's side?
     
  2. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,413
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    The server or receiver's partner can stand anywhere s/he wants. :)
     
  3. Manu Varghese

    Manu Varghese New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    hey i got 1 more doubt...while serving, is it okay to touch the front line? or do we have to be in the box?
     
  4. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,413
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  5. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,014
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    PanAm Umpire
    Location:
    California, United States
    Double partners may take up any position on the court as long as the player does not obstruct the receiver from the view of the shuttle (usually only in mixed).

    And only the SERVER and the RECEIVER cannot touch the boundary lines. Their partners may.
     
  6. |_Footwork_|

    |_Footwork_| Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Smashikon, Driveland

Share This Page