Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Striking the shuttle outside the court boundaries on service

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by rtc35, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. rtc35

    rtc35 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm almost certain I already know the answer to this, but I'm interested to see what others say. I know your feet have to be both on the ground, inside the service lines on hitting the shuttle, but what if you stand as far to the right side of the court as you legally can and reach as far to the right as you can, hitting the shuttle outside the court boundaries. Obviously, you still hit the shuttle diagonally to the opponent's receiving court, below the waist, with the racket downward, etc. There is no rule that says the shuttle has to be hit while inside the court, right?

    And I know somebody is going to say, 'Why would you want to?' I know the risks involved, but I've got a pretty powerful way of striking the shuttle this way that cuts across the court fairly low and at a sharp angle, which I think would be awkward to hit. I'm curious to try it sometime, although it might be a bit too cut-throat (and sometimes a bit wild).

    I can't see any reason why this wouldn't be legal. Any thoughts?
     
  2. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,285
    Likes Received:
    552
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    sure. aside from reaching over the net into opponent's court, there are no rules about contacting the shuttle outside any boundaries, whether it is service or during a rally.
     
  3. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Yes, this is legal. Something else you can do is stand very close to the centre, reach across the centre line, and hit the shuttle straight into the opponent's receiving area.
     
  4. chris-ccc

    chris-ccc Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    11
    Occupation:
    Professional Badminton Coach & Badminton Promoter
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Do not get mixed up these 2 subject matters

    .
    It is legal.

    Do not get mixed up these 2 subject matters;
    * Legally, where/how the server is standing, and
    * Legally, where/how the service is struck

    Each of these 2 matters has its own rules/laws (covering what we can do).
    .
     
  5. taneepak

    taneepak Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,527
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Designing and producing quality feather shuttlecoc
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    It is actually quite simple. In badminton the shuttlecock cannot be either inside or outside the court boundary lines when not on the floor. Only when it has landed on the floor can one say it is outside or inside the boundary line.

    This rule applies for all shots, service and others.

    Many players may be aware that an overhead clear to the forehand of your opponent can be 6" outside the boundary line at the time the shuttle turn over, only to see it land 2" inside the boundary line as it lands on the floor. This is due to the ant-clockwise spin of the shuttle which will direct the shuttle's descend from outside to inside the side boundary line.
     

Share This Page