Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Switching hands with one racquet

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by KonorGrieve, Nov 24, 2009.

  1. KonorGrieve

    KonorGrieve New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Long story short,
    Im doing higher PE and were now doing badminton and years ago when I first started playing badminton I learned to serve with my left hand but realised I couldn't play any shots with my left hand and now I serve with my left hand then switch hands to my right for the rest of the rally. Whereas the other teachers didn't care this one insists it is illegal and is going to fail me if i continue to do it. Is this illegal and if it is legal how can I prove it is legal
    Any Replies Much appreciated
     
    #1 KonorGrieve, Nov 24, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2009
  2. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    It is legal simply because there is no rule against it. Download the laws of badminton search it.

    http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/documents/ibflaws2006a.pdf

    I actually played against a guy that would regularly switch the racket from one hand to another during a tournament, the officials allowed it so I don't see how a PE coach shouldn't. This is actually a handicap. To be honest, you should learn how to serve with your right hand but doing so is not a fault.
     
    #2 druss, Nov 24, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2009
  3. singnflip4life

    singnflip4life Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Full Time Student
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    I agree with druss, he's got it right on the money. When I first started, I had the crazy idea to be like Ryoma from Prince of Tennis, be ambidextrous. So I play leftie against newbies, but its always rightie once things get serious.
     
  4. KonorGrieve

    KonorGrieve New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Thanks very much guys :D
     
  5. ryim_

    ryim_ Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    Capital Market Research
    Location:
    Hong Kong SAR, China
    One question, how did you learn serving with your left hand? I assume your right hand is the dominant one. If it is, I don't think it will take long for you to learn serving with your right hand.
     

Share This Page