Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

throwing racquet to recover shot - legal?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by Capnx, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. Capnx

    Capnx Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    not sure if this has been discussed (tried to do a search but no results).

    if a player throws his/her racquet to recover a shot and the racquet makes contact with the shuttle while not held by the hand and the player wins the point, is that legal?
     
  2. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,663
    Likes Received:
    292
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    i don't think it's a fault or illegal... there's no law against it

    i do that all the time when i'm totally out of position, but i've never once even hit the shuttle, much less get the bird over :p
     
  3. demolidor

    demolidor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    9,825
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    @Hollanti
    Pretty sure I've heard "GC" comment such a shot would've been illegal had it worked (?) ...
     
  4. Renmazuo27

    Renmazuo27 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Australia
    I don't think anyone would want to throw an expensive racquet around anyway..
     
  5. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,663
    Likes Received:
    292
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    we play on pvc mats, so it doesn't hurt the racket one bit
     
  6. Renmazuo27

    Renmazuo27 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Australia
    Lucky you man. We've got the wooden multipurpose flooring so our knees and ankles take a pounding (my ankle certainly did).

    For a laugh though, I'd like to see a VT80 LTD being flung across the court in desperation... :D
     
  7. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,663
    Likes Received:
    292
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    its only a vt80, but you could see joachim fischer do exactly that at the 2011 french open xd final against ma/xu :D
     
  8. Mark A

    Mark A Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6,259
    Likes Received:
    131
    Occupation:
    Warehouse dogsbody, Stringer, Panda reseller,
    Location:
    St Helens, UK
  9. Fidget

    Fidget Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,318
    Likes Received:
    54
    Occupation:
    something far too busy for my badminton needs
    Location:
    Canada
    I've seen it work once in a recreational game.
    A fellow returned a net shot and was unprepared for the crosscourt net return. It wasn't far, he just couldn't turn and get his feet going fast enough. So he tossed his racket gently, parallel to the net, and the bird hit the strings and had just enough oomph to crawl over the tape and drop to the other side.:cool:

    Not a tomahawk throw across the full length of the court like visor is wont to do :rolleyes:. But it was quite amusing to all involved. The point was let to stand in that social situation. And I'd bet it wouldn't be faulted in competition either. Where is one of our venerable officials to give a ruling?
     
  10. Ken E-Wong

    Ken E-Wong New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    In tennis, the racquet must remain in contact with the player for the shot to count. So if the player throws the racquet at manages to get the ball over, it still will not count.

    If that Jimmy Connors shot counted then the umpire screwed up.
     
  11. Andy05

    Andy05 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees, UK
    I think it's legal, but the act of throwing the racket endangers the players and can be classed as illegal for that reason. Might be ok if you do it cross court, but towards the net I think would be illegal.
    Have you done it yourself or did somebody do it to you?
     
  12. a|extan

    a|extan Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    singapore
    its ok

    not illegal if i am not wrong
     
  13. King's

    King's Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Island
    It's good for professional championship game but for social game no. Why risk your racquet specially if it's a classic racquet?:confused: OF course, most everyone knows it is perfectly legal.
     
  14. Resistor

    Resistor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    The problem is what are the chances of you retrieving the next shot if you really got it over.
     
  15. Cheung

    Cheung Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    16,326
    Likes Received:
    49
    Occupation:
    wannabe badminton phototaker
    Location:
    Outside the box
    Depends if the rule existed when Jimmy Conners played that shot. If not, then umpire didn't screw up.
     
  16. King's

    King's Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Island
    One only decides to throw themselves with the racquet as an extension of their arm if they are pretty sure they can make an irrecoverable save.
     
  17. paulierand

    paulierand Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    san francisco
    I play social games only. (not tournaments)
    and I've seen this done many times and it's never worked. hasn't ever touched the birdie. i've seen vt80's... armortec 600's... thrown. i'd rather lose the point...
     

Share This Page