Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

touching the line consider in?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by changlong, Aug 8, 2005.

  1. changlong

    changlong New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    if the birdie touch the white line in singles does tat consider a in? not side line :)
     
  2. Robin (SWE)

    Robin (SWE) Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Tokyo 'n Sweden
    assuming you know what lines apply in the situation the yes, if it touches the line a fraction then it's in
     
  3. lorus_blue

    lorus_blue Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    laws of badminton states its a fault;

    13.2 if in play, the shuttle:

    13.2.1 lands outside the boundaries of the court (ie not on or within the boundary lines);
     
  4. bluejeff

    bluejeff Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,949
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    TW
    It's In, not a fault :rolleyes:
     
  5. glencomienda111

    glencomienda111 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    manager
    Location:
    philippines
    its still in if it touches the line, depending on the boundary/line your using (if your playing singles or doubles)
     
  6. Neil Nicholls

    Neil Nicholls Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cannock, UK
    I don't think he was saying it was a fault, he was just pointing out the relevant law.
    It's not obvious though.
     
  7. lorus_blue

    lorus_blue Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    yes it's a fault if the shuttle lands outside the boundaries or beyond the lines
     
    #7 lorus_blue, Aug 10, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2005
  8. Neosakai

    Neosakai Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Unemployed =(
    Location:
    Richmond Hill
    Is it in even if the shuttle only touch the very very edge of the line?
     
  9. Quan

    Quan Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    BP(Badminton Player)
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    a line is a line... so if it visible that it has touched the line with the naked eye... then its in... even if its just a lil bit.
     
  10. Average

    Average Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    yes touching the line no matter how much the birdie touches it, the shot is still in. man...just if some of the people at the clubs understood that simple, simple concept.
     
  11. Super~ME!

    Super~ME! Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Coquitlam, BC
    ...hmm...yeah...i guess that makes sense...but i've always figured...if less than half the bird touches it...then it's out. cause how i see it is that the ground acts as a tangent to the circular head of the bird. so...if the bird is less than half of the way in...then i'd call it out cause based on the tangent and circle idea thingy...there's no way the bird could've touched the line even though it might look like it from looking down on it if it's passed half-way. but as long as it's close enough...i'll give it to em...:p
     
  12. Average

    Average Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    i know what ya mean super~me, thats a good point. when it is too close to call ill normally let people that are not playing decide on whether it is out or not or ill just give it to them like you would.
     
  13. Average

    Average Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    i know what ya mean super~me, thats a good point. when it is too close to call ill normally let people that are not playing decide on whether it is out or not or ill just give it to them like you would.
     
  14. w3wmfhe

    w3wmfhe Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    san francisco ca
    yes..it will called in..even it is just touch the edge of the line.............
     
  15. morton027

    morton027 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcs
    I agree if it is close or I couldn't see clearly then I'll ask the people behind the court or give the point if no-one is behind.
     
  16. Super~ME!

    Super~ME! Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Coquitlam, BC
    ...yeah...that works too...but then when we play at school tournaments or regular tournaments...you often get these annoying opponents who live by the rule that if you're unsure or if you didn't call it in or out right away, then they get the benefit of the doubt when it comes to you...and totally forget bout it when it happens to them...but otherwise...either just get a line judge or just give them the benefit of the doubt if you're unsure...:)
     
  17. Average

    Average Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    indeed, or you could just replay the serve if no one can make the call for sure :cool:
     
  18. Super~ME!

    Super~ME! Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Coquitlam, BC
    ...haha...true...good point...but depends who's serving...:p :D
     
  19. smash_master

    smash_master Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    player/coach/student
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago / Calgary
    hum yes if it touches the line or any part then it is in...only if all players would stick to that. I admit i hate it when i go for a shot and then i would be like its going out i wait for it and then it just touches the edge of the line...i hate it but i would still give my opponent the shuttle and wouldnt lie like some people might. If the case may be where i dont see it and they insist that it was in OR touched the line then well i would do what most of you would and ask people that are watching the game if theres nobody there then i would just replay the point. Unfortuntly i have played against some people who have not been to nice with the line calling even when it touches a part of it they would call it out...makes me mad at times, oh well life goes on.
     
  20. Jansenkzh

    Jansenkzh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    as long as it touches the white line, it is counted as in. no wonder when it touches it, as long as it pass though the white line it is in. even if the shuttle slight in and touch the white line and landed out, it is in. ;)
     

Share This Page