Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Unusual rule query...help!

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by hrhkingcol, Jul 5, 2009.

  1. hrhkingcol

    hrhkingcol New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Hello

    A query....

    This scenario doesn't need to be on service, but let's say it is for the purposes here...

    Player A serves. The shuttle is heading towards Player B's service box, and just before it drops onto the line (to be called in), Player B swings for it and misses. However, the shuttle is pulled off-course by the gust of air and lands just outside the service box.

    How does one call this?!

    Help appreciated....
     
  2. Oldhand

    Oldhand Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,445
    Likes Received:
    120
    Occupation:
    Broadcast Systems Integration
    Location:
    Asia
    One calls it 'Out', of course.
     
  3. hrhkingcol

    hrhkingcol New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Fair enough.

    You think it'd be possible to try incorporate this as a tactic? Or too difficult to do on purpose...?

    C
     
  4. Oldhand

    Oldhand Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,445
    Likes Received:
    120
    Occupation:
    Broadcast Systems Integration
    Location:
    Asia
    Unless you equip yourself with a turbofan-assisted racquet or SuperBreath, it will be quite a challenge to rely on this as a regular tactic.

    Of course, it doesn't hurt to try.

    On the other hand, returning the shuttle might be a more practical idea :)
     
  5. cooler

    cooler Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    22,016
    Likes Received:
    13
    Occupation:
    Surfing, reading fan mails:D, Dilithium Crystal hu
    Location:
    Basement Boiler Room
    it would be very very difficult to prove the shuttle landing in or out was affected by the racket'g gush of air. It is considered being a part of the game, just like natural air draft floating around the gym. However, if a player purposely blows air to push a falling shuttle out, and if i'm the umpire, i would call a fault, because blowing air on a shuttle, whether it was effective or not, is not part of the game.
     
  6. Capnx

    Capnx Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    i think unless it happens in an international game, there won't be an explicit rule written on it. but like cooler said, if there's a ref, he/she might give a warning first, and if u do it again, lose the point :)
     
  7. markham player

    markham player Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    medical
    Location:
    toronto
    It would be called "Out", of course.
     
  8. gamepurpose

    gamepurpose Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    unemployeed
    Location:
    garden grove
    I don't really know how some1 would able to do that every shots. The racquet has holes, to able to create the wind that is strong enough to push the bird goes backward direction. He or she should have a super built body or arm or watever. Go try it if you want, lol, hanging paper? sure. something that is small and heavy as like i don't know, let's say a foam cup, see if you able to make it move with a swing.
     
  9. kinoko

    kinoko Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand - Indonesia
    put a paper on one said of the frame... if they serve short, swing the racket to the direction of the paper-side so ud have enough wind to force the shuttle fall before the line...otherwise swing to the other direction and the paper will drop and wont bother the game unless u step on it and slip =p
     
  10. Matt

    Matt Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    IT Developer
    Location:
    Richmond, BC
    Isn't that called cheating =P ahhaahha
     
  11. bradmyster

    bradmyster Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Customer server network Support
    Location:
    Australia, Brisbane
    lol...pretty pointless to try and use this as a tactic unless you have absolutely pinpoint accuracy and judgment.

    And if the referee can see movement change in the shuttle alot of them will actually call that you have contacted the shuttle.
     

Share This Page