[Video] Progressing my Singles (Please critique)

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by baronspill, May 9, 2018.

1. baronspill

baronspill Regular Member

I've taken the plunge and recorded one of my social singles games. Never did this before as I thought I'd look a lot worse than I imagine myself playing.

Just a quick bit of background. I picked up a racquet for the first time at age 35, I'm now the grand old age of 40. I had weekly coaching from a top 100 ladies singles player for about 12 months when starting out.

I've been playing singles regularly for about 2 years with a group of badminton buddies, and feel I've made some decent progression but as you'll see from the video I still have an very long way to go technique and footwork wise. Until I watched this video I didn't realise how bad my forehand overhead technique currently is.

Anyway, I would appreciate a critique of my game, technique, ability etc. I'm thick skinned, so no need to sugar coat anything! I'm nearest the camera in the white and black top. Unfortunately my opponent is fairly weak, so not many rallies to view but hopefully there's enough to go on to make an assessment.

BadBadmintonPlayer and Cheung like this.
  2. visor

visor Regular Member

Surprisingly your backhand form is better than your forehand. You're not reaching high enough. Need to imagine taking the bird at least 1 foot higher. I'm wondering whether you're too pan handle in your grip.

Another thing, your racket carriage is too lazy and too low. Keep it at least above waist or higher.

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk

baronspill likes this.
  3. Cheung

Cheung Moderator

wannabe badminton phototaker
    You are quite slow in preparing the racquet ready on your forehand side.

So for overheads, you don't turn enough. And you don't have time to reach up for the lower lifts.