Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

What if you touch the shuttle before it rests completely

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by pcll99, Oct 22, 2012.

  1. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,918
    Likes Received:
    225
    Occupation:
    Cylon Agent
    Location:
    HK
    let's say the shuttle clearly landed out. But before it completely rests on the ground, you touched the shuttle. is it a fault?
     
  2. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    why would it be?
     
  3. krysser

    krysser Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    @Home
    No as soon as the shuttle tuches the floor the rally is over and the shuttle is no longer in play.
     
  4. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,918
    Likes Received:
    225
    Occupation:
    Cylon Agent
    Location:
    HK
    ok, thanks. that's what i thought.

    it's just that i rarely see players do that, ie, touching the shuttle before it completely rested. i thought there might be a rule against it.
     
  5. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    39,269
    Likes Received:
    534
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    then it begs the question...

    what if the shuttle hits the floor and the racket at the same time.

    say, someone was diving for the shuttle, managed to touch it right at the exact moment when it touches the floor outside the boundary line?
     
  6. amleto

    amleto Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    your partner shouts 'idiot' :p
     
  7. Mark A

    Mark A Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6,166
    Likes Received:
    112
    Occupation:
    Warehouse dogsbody, Stringer, Panda reseller,
    Location:
    St Helens, UK
    I shout something alright, but it's not "idiot".
     
  8. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    United States
    Like mentioned, the play is already considered "dead" or the shuttle is considered "no longer in play". Just think about the shuttle travelling towards the net situation where it's clear it's not going over, and the player hits the net.

    And as for Kwun's question, I would say it's a fault. Cause it still touches your racket even though it were to land out.
     
  9. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,508
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Wait a minute... in that situation, isn't it a fault if the player hits the net before the bird lands on the ground?

    So according to law 15.1 I can do anything to the net when the bird hits the net and doesn't go over the net and hasn't touched the ground yet? :p Hmmm... something to try on my regular group the next time we play... :D
     
    #9 visor, Oct 23, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012
  10. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    United States
    Sorry I wrote that quickly and messed up. If it travels towards the net and hits the net but is going down (clearly not going over) then you are free to touch the net. The fault already occurred, so anything after is pretty irrelevant.

    But if the shuttle doesn't hit the net, even though it's still in the air and clearly not going to cross over, you cannot touch the net in that case until the shuttle hits the ground.


    Sorry for the confusion there.
     

Share This Page