Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

what's the rule on this?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by hesho, Oct 10, 2011.

  1. hesho

    hesho Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Timmins, Ontario
    so.. i was watching a game being played by the kids a month ago and something really weird happened. First i should mention that high schoolers here player with nylon. It was a doubles game and the player does a cross court drop at the net. The other player digs it out and crawls up and over the net. This is what is weird.

    The shuttle crawled down and then the "feather" got stuck in the net. What would the call on this? I told them to make it a let but i talked to another coach and she said it should be a let because the player got the shot over. My reply to that was, "ya but, the shuttle is still in play".

    Any idea?

    oh, i haven't checked the rules in awhile but, I know before, you can hit the shuttle twice and it was legal as long as it's 1 fluid motion. Does this rule still apply? Same with the rule of throwing the racquet. I know that before, you could throw your racquet and if it somehow hit the shuttle and went over, it was a legal shot. Does this still apply as well?
     
  2. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,674
    Likes Received:
    297
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Q1: yes it's a let because the bird doesn't fall into the ground. (Rule 14.2.3.2) ..... Q2: yes legal if one fluid stroke. .....Q3: no rules saying the racket has to be held in hand. :p.
     
    #2 visor, Oct 10, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2011
  3. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    United States
    Q1: This was on my umpire exam, it is considered a let. No matter how tight the net shot would be, if it goes over, the other player can still attempt a net shot to make it over, you don't know what will happen. But since it is stuck onto the net, that player cannot attempt the shot any longer, so it is unfair to them.

    Q2: It has to hit the frame and the strings for it to be legal in 1 motion.
     
  4. alexh

    alexh Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Q1: correct, but this is only for a shot played during a rally. If it happens on service then it's a fault. And I've seen this happen with a feather shuttle too.
     
  5. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,674
    Likes Received:
    297
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Good catch! :thumbsup: Rule 13.2.1 and 13.2.2. I suppose because if the shuttle does finally fall, it'll be way short of the service line anyways. :)
     
    #5 visor, Oct 13, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2011

Share This Page