Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

When serving, can you stand on the middle line without going out of the border?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by nightin9ale, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. nightin9ale

    nightin9ale Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Are you allowed to do that? My opponent called me off on that, and I argued with him that it is allowed. The reason being is that I watched a Lin Dan match once where he constantly stands on the middle white line while serving. He's still the right side, of course, but a part of his foot is on top of the service center white line without a part of his shoe going out of the 1.5 inch border line. The commentator, Gillian Clark, even mentions it, and that's why it stuck on my mind ever since. I just can't remember what match it is though.
     
  2. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,659
    Likes Received:
    289
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Your foot or shoe cannot physically touch the line at all.
     
  3. nightin9ale

    nightin9ale Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Are you 100% sure, 'cause Lin Dan did it a lot in one of his matches (I can't remember what match). The commentator even mentioned it, and she didn't say it was not allowed. She just said it's interesting that LD stands on top of the white line. And the umpire did not call him at fault. I hope I can see that match again so I can post it.
     
  4. LD rules!

    LD rules! Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Earth
    Umpire obviously didnt see it then...
     
  5. Andy05

    Andy05 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees, UK
    If as her serves he moves his bodyweight forwards and his foot crosses the line after contact with the shuttle then that is ok. As long as his foot maintains contact with the floor it should be ok.
    But you can't be in contact with the line when the shuttle is struck.
     
  6. nightin9ale

    nightin9ale Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Lin Dan's foot was physically touching the line before making contact with the shuttle. The commentator would have said it's not allowed if she mentioned it, don't you guys think so? To you guys that say it's not allowed, where in the rulebook does it say that? I still think it's okay for your feet/shoe to touch the inside of the white line as long as no part of your feet/shoe is actually touching the other green side.
     
  7. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,659
    Likes Received:
    289
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    9.1.2 the server and the receiver shall stand within diagonally opposite service courts (Diagram A) without touching the boundary lines of these service courts;

    Nothing ambiguous about it.

    Now would it have been that hard to look it up yourself? :rolleyes:
     
    #7 visor, Dec 7, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  8. nightin9ale

    nightin9ale Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Well that sux = ( For some sort of reason I really like stepping on that center line = ) But thanks for the info = )
     
  9. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,659
    Likes Received:
    289
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  10. Cheung

    Cheung Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    16,326
    Likes Received:
    49
    Occupation:
    wannabe badminton phototaker
    Location:
    Outside the box
    The umpire is looking at the receiver - he calls 'fault receiver'.

    It's the service judge who calls a fault for the service but obviously, that is not the best position to look at the line.
     

Share This Page