Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Who Gets The Point?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by 16_FeatherS, May 9, 2011.

  1. 16_FeatherS

    16_FeatherS Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Technical
    Location:
    Behind The Shuttle
    I just recently joined a tournament, Mixed Doubles, and i would like to know if the umpire officiating our championship game made the right call:

    Our opponent made a serve and i was supposed to be the receiver. After the serve, the shuttle went to the other "Non receiver" box where my partner was standing. Unfortunately, the shuttle hit my partner's racket as it was held high. The umpire gave the point to our opponent.

    Was it the correct call?

    Thanks
     
  2. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,517
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    yes
    law 13.2.3

    FAULTS
    It shall be a "fault":

    13.1 if a service is not correct (Law 9.1);
    13.2 if, in service, the shuttle:
    13.2.1 is caught on the net and remains suspended on its top;
    13.2.2 after passing over the net, is caught in the net; or
    13.2.3 is hit by the receiver's partner;


    Even if it was unintentionally hit on the racket, or if it had hit your partner's body, it is still your fault for not getting out of the way.
     
    #2 visor, May 9, 2011
    Last edited: May 9, 2011
  3. druss

    druss Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Agreed, your partner should have moved the racket out of the way, the fact that she touched it during the service to you means it is a fault. If she had moved and the shuttle had landed out then your team would have gotten the point.

    13. FAULTS
    It shall be a ‘fault’:
    13.1 if a service is not correct (Law 9.1);
    13.2 if, in service, the shuttle:
    13.2.1 is caught on the net and remains suspended on its top;
    13.2.2 after passing over the net, is caught in the net; or
    13.2.3 is hit by the receiver’s partner;
     
  4. 16_FeatherS

    16_FeatherS Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Technical
    Location:
    Behind The Shuttle
    ok then, thanks Visor and Druss for the answers...

    cheers
     
  5. Badderz_Alpha

    Badderz_Alpha Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    This happened to me last week! ... so its not a "let" ?? and its point to the opposition ??
     
  6. LightSaber

    LightSaber Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    4
    Occupation:
    Smasher
    Location:
    Malaysia
    during rallies if the shuttle passing over the net and caught in the net, it will be a 'let' (happen to lin dan)

    i dont know that it will be a fault if it occur in service... new thing to learn..thanks...
     
  7. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    United States
    On a serve, yes, because even with the net not there, the bird is not going to reach the service line anyways (unless some strong breeze were to occur)

    In play, that is a let, because even on a tight net shot, the opponent would technically still have an opportunity to return if it were to not get caught in the net. That question was on my regional umpire test.
     
  8. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,517
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    ^^
    makes sense, thanks for the clarification!
     
  9. 2wheels04

    2wheels04 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cal Central
    Did you join the ranks? Pass the test, that is.
     
  10. CantSmashThis

    CantSmashThis Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    United States
    Yes, I did. I am currently in Boston umpiring for the Boston Open right now.
     

Share This Page