Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Who to serve to whom?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by pcll99, Mar 2, 2014.

  1. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,922
    Likes Received:
    226
    Occupation:
    Cylon Agent
    Location:
    HK
    Let's say FHF/CY play against LYD/JJS. FHF/CY won the coin toss and decided to serve first.

    How will the umpire decide who will serve to whom? thanks.
     
  2. visor

    visor Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13,520
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    The players, not the umpire, decide who serves and receives first.

    That's why you'll see them pointing at themselves or their partners after the coin toss. Also the winner of the coin toss decides which side they'll start on... which is very important depending on the drift of the stadium.
     
    #2 visor, Mar 2, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2014
  3. Loh

    Loh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,795
    Likes Received:
    331
    Occupation:
    Stock Broker
    Location:
    Singapore Also Can
    Indeed the partners decide who should serve first and the umpire will take note of this in his score sheet.

    One thing to note as a pair is to remember which one of you has served before "service over". Then when the service comes back to you, the partner who has not served will be the next to serve. Service alternates between the two partners.
     
  4. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,922
    Likes Received:
    226
    Occupation:
    Cylon Agent
    Location:
    HK
    thanks..

    Who first serve at the beginning of Game 2? the winner of game 1?

    and who serve to whom? the players decide on their own?
     
  5. Fidget

    Fidget Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,303
    Likes Received:
    46
    Occupation:
    something far too busy for my badminton needs
    Location:
    Canada
    The winning side serves in game two.
    In doubles, either winning player may serve first in game two. (and either loser can receive first)
     
  6. Loh

    Loh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,795
    Likes Received:
    331
    Occupation:
    Stock Broker
    Location:
    Singapore Also Can
    The tricky point is: are the partners standing on the right side of their court - left or right, whether serving or receiving? Can the scores help the partners to decide?
     
  7. pcll99

    pcll99 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,922
    Likes Received:
    226
    Occupation:
    Cylon Agent
    Location:
    HK
    sorry, i don't think i understand what u mean.

    btw, does the winning side decide who serve first? and then the losing side decide who to receive?
     
  8. Loh

    Loh Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,795
    Likes Received:
    331
    Occupation:
    Stock Broker
    Location:
    Singapore Also Can
    Yes the players can decide among themselves at the commencement of each game.

    Have you seen players who are not sure on which side of their court, the left or the right, to stand after a rally and has to be guided by the umpire?
     

Share This Page