Thanks for visiting us!

Badminton Central is a free community for fans of badminton! If you find anything useful here please consider registering to see more content and get involved with our great community users, it takes less than 15 seconds! Everybody is welcome here.

Click here for a FREE account!

Who wins the point?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by allFrame, Aug 7, 2007.

  1. allFrame

    allFrame New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Badminton coach and development officer
    Location:
    Australia
    This happened in a match yesterday: A hard smash and the shuttle disintegrates in the air, the feathers come off the cork. The feathers (all feathers) go into the net but the cork (only the cork) goes over the net and lands inside the lines on the opponent's side. Does the player smashing win the point because the cork landed in on the opponent's side, or do the opponent win because the shuttle went in the net?
     
  2. Dreamzz

    Dreamzz Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    London & Penang
    hahaha, how did such a thing happen?
    i'm sure someone will quote the rule book soon and give us the answer, but for me, if it happened in my club during a match, we'd probably just play a let and get better shuttles!
    (or ban shuttle abusers!)
     
  3. Neil Nicholls

    Neil Nicholls Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cannock, UK
    Nobody, it is a let.

    14.2.4
    it shall be a "let" if during play, the shuttle disintegrates and the base completely separates from the rest of the shuttle.
     
  4. Neil Nicholls

    Neil Nicholls Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Cannock, UK
    it happens more with plastics than feathers, due to the slightly different method of attaching the "feathers", I guess.
     
    silentheart likes this.
  5. silentheart

    silentheart Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,214
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Good call Neil. You are too fast and I was asleep.
     
  6. Dreamzz

    Dreamzz Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    London & Penang
    yeah, but according to him, this time it was feathers, which i'm quite curious about. must have been a really big hit to kill it like that.
     
  7. DivingBirdie

    DivingBirdie Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    Singapore
    i believe this happens when you hit only the cork with the upper frame of the racket.

    actualy, did the feathers come off the cork, or the cork off the feathers?? if it's the former, there should still be some sticks attached to the cork....lol
     
  8. XtC-604

    XtC-604 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Store Manager
    Location:
    Vancouver
    lol happens all the time with plastics, the cork will break off the curtain and become a high speed projectile = )
     

Share This Page