How i increased my smash speed by 30%

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by charliebadders, Jul 22, 2011.

1. charliebadders

charliebadders Regular Member

student
    Hey Guys :)
    I thought i would share some of the exercises i've been doing to train my arm and rotational speed. I bought a set of resistance bands about 2-3 months ago as i thought i would train my rotatorcuff to avoid injury, but these things are amazing and i've done many other exercises too. I feel i have most benefited from these 2 exercises http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1KLFK1gxEE&feature=relmfu and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JIfEOFuTEdY&feature=related. i know the second video is for baseball pitchers but when i saw it i thought it looked similar to a badminton overhead shot, so i've been doing about 3 times a week for the last 2 months and i've seen great results. i also have done these exercises to which i feel has helped contribute to my improvement http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JbZYOVrkIRs and pronator teres exercises using a hammer to pronate and supinate. Overall i have seen great improvement to my smash and it has taken my game to a new level, many of my friends have commented on how much my power has increased and joke that i must be taking steroid lol :p the only downside that i've seen so far is that it takes time to develop control on your clears as i would lose many points a game hitting the shuttle 3-5ft past the baseline.

Before starting these exercises make sure your technique is good, as you would see a greater increase in performance if you improve your technique. However, if you a looking to add another edge to your game and you feel your technique is good add these exercises to your training and you might get the same results as me :)

2. Fidget

Fidget Regular Member

Good exercises. :)